1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.

Keyboard Fn default

Discussion in 'Specific Hardware Issues' started by Tony D, Apr 5, 2017.

  1. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,732
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    I have a Toshiba Satellite C675-S7322 laptop that I'm working on. It was born a W7 machine and now it has W10.

    First of all the BIOS is nearly impossible to get into.

    The problem I'm having is that when you use the keyboard, the default is to have the Fn key engaged. For instance, the F6 key doubles as 'decrease brightness' when used with the Fn key. Problem is that when I use the F6, instead of getting an F6, the screen brightness decreases. To use an F6, I need to use the Fn modifier key.

    Normally this isn't a big problem. However, on this machine, the Space bar doesn't work unless the Fn key is used. Additionally, the 1, 2, 3, 4 numbers are used to zoom in/out and increase/decrease volume. If I want to use them as actual numbers, I have to use the Fn modifier.

    I haven't seen where to change the default setting so that the Fn modifier key function is not the default. Geez....
     
  2. Seth Anthony

    Seth Anthony Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    620
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Altaire 8800
    CPU:
    Modified Texas Instruments calculator
    Memory:
    2 transistor tubes
    Hard Drive:
    pen and paper
    Graphics Card:
    TV ready
    Power Supply:
    Mouse on a wheel
    I had 2 of those in the last few days.

    It's caused by a Lenovo update via MS updates. Roll back the driver for the Touch Pad and restart. The keyboard should be fine now. If not, run a System restore. When you get the keyboard working, check for updates, and the new updates shouldn't cause a keyboard glitch.
     
    allheart55 (Cindy E) likes this.
  3. Rustys

    Rustys Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,264
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    Tony if that does not work that can be changed under Function Key Behavior in the BIOS settings. (OK it is on one of my Gateways).
     
  4. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,732
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    This is a Toshiba. Curious though, how did you come to find it was a Lenovo update?


    I thought it could be changed in the BIOS. I didn't find the setting.
     
  5. Seth Anthony

    Seth Anthony Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    620
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Altaire 8800
    CPU:
    Modified Texas Instruments calculator
    Memory:
    2 transistor tubes
    Hard Drive:
    pen and paper
    Graphics Card:
    TV ready
    Power Supply:
    Mouse on a wheel
    The 2 I had were Lenovo.

    I first tried a USB keyboard (which worked fine), so that narrowed it down to the keyboard driver. To my surprise, re-installing the driver didn't work. I then found a site which mentioned some odd issue with the touch pad driver that came through Windows updates.

    I mentioned uninstalling the keyboard driver and System Restore just for good measure.
     
  6. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,732
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Turns out this Toshiba DOES have a Lenovo touch pad. An update was installed March 18. I rolled back the driver, it didn't help.

    Checking the web, there are a lot of people with this problem. Still searching for a solution.

    System Restore was OFF.
     
  7. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,732
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    When booted to Safe Mode, I noted that the keys worked properly. I didn't check to see if the Fn modified worked on the associated keys.

    I disabled all the Toshiba startup items via msconfig. The space bar is now working properly. However some of the Fn functions, such as screen brightness adjust, don't work. On to see which startup item is causing this.
     
  8. Seth Anthony

    Seth Anthony Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    620
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Altaire 8800
    CPU:
    Modified Texas Instruments calculator
    Memory:
    2 transistor tubes
    Hard Drive:
    pen and paper
    Graphics Card:
    TV ready
    Power Supply:
    Mouse on a wheel
    Well the Toshiba having a Lenovo touch pad is interesting.

    Safe mode might help because the Syn touch pad driver isn't loading, or fully loading. Either way, it has something to with the touch pad driver, or possibly keyboard driver as well. Try downloading the latest touch pad driver right from Toshiba, then uninstall the touch pad, and choose to delete the driver as well. Then go ahead and install the driver that was downloaded.
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2017

Share This Page