1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

[Solved] Is it safe to use cable splitter in my case?

Discussion in 'Power Supply - PSU' started by Dushan..., Aug 30, 2020.

Tags:
  1. Dushan...

    Dushan...

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    I recently changed my psu unit and now I don't have enough cables to power up my pc.

    I bought chieftec gpe-500s eco series 500w psu.
    Cpu is ryzen 5 2600
    Gpu is AMD Radeon r9 290
    Win 10, 4gb ddr4 gaming RAM
    I also have 3 x ssd and that's all.

    Sorry for poor config info but that's all I have becaise I can't power up my pc

    On online psu calculators, for my configuration calculations says that recommended psu is 488w

    Problem is that my motherboard requires 8 pins and gpu requires 8 pins + 6 pins but psu have only 1 x 6+2 pins, 1 x 4 pins and 2 x molex.
    I already attached that 2 x molex to 6 pins for gpu and don't have one more wire for motherboard.
    And 6+2 pins connector only fits to gpu, not to motherboard.
    Question is:
    Is it safe to use splitters or what splitter type to use?
    I'm imagined to use splitter 4 pins to 8 pins for motherboard because 4 pins cable is not in use but again, is it safe to do?

    Thanks
     
  2. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Hello and welcome Dushan.
    We'll have to look at each of the components to see how much current each draws from each voltage rail before making a recommendation. I'm pretty tired right now. Maybe someone else will get in here before I come back tomorrow.

    Generally speaking, it's OK to use a splitter to allow you to power more than one component of the system.
     
  3. Rustys

    Rustys Registered Members

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,656
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    Hard Drive:
    Yes
    Graphics Card:
    4 D
    Power Supply:
    Solar
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2020
  4. Dushan...

    Dushan...

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Thanks a lot, you saved my PC and my whole electric house instalations guys [​IMG]
     
  5. Rustys

    Rustys Registered Members

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,656
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    Hard Drive:
    Yes
    Graphics Card:
    4 D
    Power Supply:
    Solar
    You are welcome
    Happy Computing
     
: Psu

Share This Page