1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

Is it a good idea to have a 2nd antivirus security on your computer?

Discussion in 'General Malware And Security' started by grantiman, Jun 29, 2024.

  1. grantiman

    grantiman Registered Members

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Right now my computer has Microsoft Defender Antivirus that scans every few days to check for any security problems, every time it scans it always shows no threats were detected. Every once in a while I'll get a couple warning pop up boxes saying a threat has been detected, I'm wondering if my Microsoft Defender isn't detecting something during it's scan. Is there a free security app I can download to check for any other problems I may have that my Microsoft Defender doesn't scan for?
     
  2. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    878
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    allheart55 (Cindy E) and Tony D like this.
  3. grantiman

    grantiman Registered Members

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Does Windows Defender check for malware and spyware? I was just wondering why my browser was starting to run a little slow, also if I click on a link, another web page site will open instead of the one I clicked on, hat's when I started to get those warning boxes that said my computer may be infected, the warning boxes looked fake to me. I'm not sure if this would have anything to do with it or not, over three weeks ago I opened my Facebook and started scrolling down on my friends posts, then this box popped up and told me I was Temporary Block, it's been almost 30 days and I still can't view my Facebook page, I never had anything happen like that before, that's why I was thinking maybe I had more than just a virus somewhere. Below is what I keep getting on my Facebook page, have you ever seen or heard about a block box like this?
    blocked 4.jpg
     
  4. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    5,029
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Browser hijack or maybe Hosts file poisoning.
    Reset your browser or try another browser is the first thing to to.
    Download Malwarebytes antimalware trial and let it scan.
    https://www.malwarebytes.com/mwb-download/thankyou

    If your browser doesn't let you get to that link, download the file from another computer. Then copy the file onto a flash drive and transfer it to your infected computer. That should allow Malwarebytes Antimalware to install and run.
     
    IJAC likes this.
  5. grantiman

    grantiman Registered Members

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I have two browsers, Microsoft Edge and Fire Fox. I usually use Fire Fox as my main browser, I'll start using my Microsoft Edge and see if there's any difference. As far as the Facebook Block message, would you know if that would be part of a browser hijack or would that be a Facebook problem, I never heard of a fb block message because you were scrolling to fast..
     
  6. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    878
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    I never have either, that may be because of a browser hijack like Tony said. It is also possible your Facebook account is infected also. You could try and download Malwarebytes and run a scan to see if your computer has an infection.
     
    allheart55 (Cindy E) likes this.
  7. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,459
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    Just to interject, this is a valid Facebook message. (Although quite basic and very easy to duplicate)
    I admin many humor and political groups on Facebook and have easily seen this message dozens of times.
    Scrolling too fast is a stupid Facebook message/error and we have complained about it many times.
    I've only had certain features of Facebook blocked and never for 30 days.
    Also, the message DOES NOT SAY that you are BLOCKED from FACEBOOK.
     
    IJAC likes this.
  8. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,459
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    To Add: It means you did many things too quickly and that is standard BOT behavior.
    The only BOTS allowed on Facebook are their AI, no one else's.
     
    IJAC likes this.
  9. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    5,029
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Yeah, what AllHeart said. I totally missed the part where it complained about going too fast.
    Good call Cindy.
     
    allheart55 (Cindy E) and IJAC like this.

Share This Page