1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

Installing Windowsfx on Linux Mint

Discussion in 'Linux' started by John Stenger, Jul 9, 2021.

  1. John Stenger

    John Stenger Registered Members

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    265
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Home
    I have downloaded the free version of Windowsfx onto my Linux Mint 18.3 Cinnamon 64 bit Operating system. But due to my Ignorance of using this Linux OS, I can't find that download, and I don't know how to install it! Could someone in the know, possibly assist me with this problem? Thanks John
     
  2. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    605
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    After downloading the ISO file you need to make a bootable DVD or USB. Here is a guide better explained than I can.
    https://www.lifewire.com/how-to-burn-an-iso-file-to-a-usb-drive-2619270
    After you do this you reboot to the USB or DVD drive. You can get to the boot list or get into the bios to change boot order by pressing I believe F10. I believe you have a HP. Here is a guide for that also: https://www.neeosearch.com/hp-6200-pro-boot-usb/
    Then follow the prompts to install along side Mint. Just take your time and come back if you have any more questions. I know this is a lot to take in but if you don't like Windowsfx here is one that looks and works just like windows also: https://reactos.org/
     
    starbuck, Seth Anthony and Tony D like this.
  3. John Stenger

    John Stenger Registered Members

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    265
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Home

    Thank You for your Help! Where on Linux is this ISO file I need to burn stored? Also Should the USB flash drive I use be Blank? and Lastly I keep seeing a lot of this Ubuntu associated with Linux, My Linux is Mint 18.3 Cinnamon 64 Bit Will that affect my install?
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2021
  4. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,230
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    The ISO will turn a DVD or flash drive into the media needed to install the OS. If it's like what I do with Windows, you boot to the DVD or flash drive that you created with the ISO file and the installation will initiate.

    You can't simply copy the ISO file to a DVD or USB drive. You need to use the appropriate software to create install media from the ISO file. Many computers come with software that allows you to do this. Here's an article I found on how to use Windows itself to create media from an ISO file. They don't mention the use of a USB drive, but maybe you'll find the appropriate option.
    https://www.laptopmag.com/articles/mount-burn-iso-files-windows.
     
    IJAC likes this.
  5. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    605
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    Most likely the ISO you downloaded will be in the downloads folder.
     
  6. John Stenger

    John Stenger Registered Members

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    265
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Home
    Yes Found it! Thank You! ....I will try to proceed with the burn & install!
     
  7. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    605
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    Great hope it goes smooth for you.
     
  8. John Stenger

    John Stenger Registered Members

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    265
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Home
    Been trying to get some info from the WindowsFX website contact address, but they don't seem to answer too quickly! Maybe someone here would know? Is this WindowsFX ..OS, free of having to make Command Box changes by typing in different code to get info such as Ram Memory? Whereas Microsoft Windows does not require typing commands to acquire basic information! That is my main dislike concerning the LINUX, OS ...Thanks John
     
  9. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    605
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    Linux is less command line things than before. In fact I run Linux Mint and I rarely use the command line. I believe Windows FX is the same not much command line. If you check in the programs menu there are a lot of programs to do what you need. I use the synaptic software package manger to add programs. Windows FX has the synaptic package manger also click on the start menu administration and synaptic manger.
     
  10. John Stenger

    John Stenger Registered Members

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    265
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Home
    If WINDOWS FX is Similar with the Commands, I might just stick with the Linux! You mention you rarely use the command line! If you wanted to check your PC's Ram Memory, or change your Linux Password ...is there another way now? then the command box? and is there a synaptic software that I could use with LINUX?
     
  11. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    605
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    On Mint you click on the menu, administration, system profiler and benchmark that gives you your system information. Do you mean how to change the root password or the password to sign in to your account? In case you made them the same password I would change that so they are different. Yes the synaptic package manger comes with Linux. Also Mint has a software manager plus the synaptic manger to get software. To change user password go to menu, administration, users and groups click on the password and follow the prompts. Not sure about the root password I will have to check that out for you. I've been using Mint for a while I don't know everything I am still learning also. If you have questions I will do my best to answer them for you. If not I will try and find out for you. I really enjoy using mint it was a fairly easy transition for me but I did take some courses a while ago and forgot most of it.
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2021
    Tony D and allheart55 (Cindy E) like this.
  12. John Stenger

    John Stenger Registered Members

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    265
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Home
    Thanks for your Help IJAC!
     
  13. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    605
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    You are welcome just post back if you need more help.
     
  14. plodr

    plodr CHF Advisor CHF Advisers

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Messages:
    710
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Don't confuse linux's synaptic package manager with Windows driver for a synaptics touchpad. Ironically the names match but they are very dissimilar.
    As I was reading the comments, I thought I had to add this just in case you thought it was the same thing.
     

Share This Page