1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

[Solved] In Bad Shape

Discussion in 'Other Operating Systems' started by Almost Nearly Sociable, Jun 26, 2022.

  1. Almost Nearly Sociable

    Almost Nearly Sociable Registered Members

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2021
    Messages:
    96
    Location:
    Philippines
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Acer
    CPU:
    ?
    Memory:
    4 G
    Hard Drive:
    ?
    Graphics Card:
    ?
    Power Supply:
    Acer
    I tried Zorin 16.1 Core OS Linux distro in my virtual machine. It worked fine and I like the OS so I decided to take the plunge and install it. I followed all the instructions and burned the installer to my usb then went for the install. During the install, the installer crashed. I do not know why. By this time though the Windows OS was taken off the system. So all I had left to operate with was the "try Zorin" option that is on the USB. That is what I am using now and that is all I can use. I tried to put Win 10 back on but no one told me before to disable secure boot so now my hard drive is locked and my Win 10 boot USB will not work. Perhaps the fact that I didn't disable secure boot is why it crashed. I have two partitions on the hard drive but I was afraid to take any action like reformatting the drive because I might wipe out essential drivers used by Acer to operate the system. So that is my situation. I use my 16 MB USB to run the OS because I have no choice. What should I do at this point?
    My system is an Acer Aspire E15, 4 MG Ram, 2T of disk space.I also have an external hard drive of 500 MB which contains my back up files. I also have several USB sticks 16 MB each.
    There is no computer store here as I live on a remote Island off the Philippines. I will need to fix it myself and use what I have.
    Thanks for any advice.
     
  2. Almost Nearly Sociable

    Almost Nearly Sociable Registered Members

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2021
    Messages:
    96
    Location:
    Philippines
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Acer
    CPU:
    ?
    Memory:
    4 G
    Hard Drive:
    ?
    Graphics Card:
    ?
    Power Supply:
    Acer
    Found out what the problem was. I needed to disable secure boot and that allowed me to download Zorin. So all is fine now. Thanks.
     
    allheart55 (Cindy E) likes this.
  3. starbuck

    starbuck Administrator - Malware Removal Specialist Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,827
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    CPU:
    AMD Athlon II x2 250 Processor 3.00GHz
    Memory:
    8gb DDR3
    Hard Drive:
    500gb SATA
    Graphics Card:
    ASUS GeForce GTX 960 2gb
    Power Supply:
    650w PowerCool X-Viper
    Ok, thanks for letting us know. :thmbup:
     
    IJAC likes this.
  4. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    857
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    That is the case with most if not all Linux distributions.
     
  5. Almost Nearly Sociable

    Almost Nearly Sociable Registered Members

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2021
    Messages:
    96
    Location:
    Philippines
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Acer
    CPU:
    ?
    Memory:
    4 G
    Hard Drive:
    ?
    Graphics Card:
    ?
    Power Supply:
    Acer
    The laptop I put Linux on runs great, and I have no problems. However, I recently bought a used desk top, a Booston Rysen core with 6 Gigs of ram and 1.2 TB of memory. The price was right. It also had Linux installed, but the guy could never get the Wi-Fi part on Linux to work. Instead of trying to get this thing to work on Linux, I thought I would just install Win 10 on it and use that, as I already have Linux on my laptop. What would be the easiest way to do that? I tried to boot using my Win 10 boot USB, but the machine would not recognize the USB. While the system has bios, of course it is a different set-up than I am used to on Windows. I went into bios and sure enough there was no USB there to boot from. The only other thing of Windows I have is the Media Creation Tool on a USB also. So, can you give me any advice on how to put Windows on this desktop machine?
    The boot options in this bios are: P1:SPCC Solid State Disk, PO: 1 TB. When I enter set up, the options are: Advanced Frequency Settings, Advanced Memory Settings, Advanced Voltage Settings, PC Health, Misc Settings, Smart Fan 5, Q-Flash.
    But, like I said, the USB option never appears.


    Thanks a lot.
     
  6. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    857
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
  7. Almost Nearly Sociable

    Almost Nearly Sociable Registered Members

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2021
    Messages:
    96
    Location:
    Philippines
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Acer
    CPU:
    ?
    Memory:
    4 G
    Hard Drive:
    ?
    Graphics Card:
    ?
    Power Supply:
    Acer
    Thanks for the info, but on this particular PC I am going to put Windows back on. I am fairly confident that the software in this modem is geared expressly for Windows, and I just don't have the time to investigate further, but I will keep Linux on my laptop.
    I have the Win 10 USB boot stick that I will try to reinstall Windows on the machine. The problem I had with that is the USB did not show up in bios.
    So, can you give me any advice on how to put Windows on this desktop machine?
    The boot options in this bios are: P1:SPCC Solid State Disk, PO: 1 TB. When I enter set up, the options are: Advanced Frequency Settings, Advanced Memory Settings, Advanced Voltage Settings, PC Health, Misc Settings, Smart Fan 5, Q-Flash.
    But, like I said, the USB option never appears.
    Windows was completely overwritten by Linux.
    I also have the Media Creation Tool for Windows 10 on another stick that I will try to use if the boot does not work.
    Thanks
     
  8. Almost Nearly Sociable

    Almost Nearly Sociable Registered Members

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2021
    Messages:
    96
    Location:
    Philippines
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Acer
    CPU:
    ?
    Memory:
    4 G
    Hard Drive:
    ?
    Graphics Card:
    ?
    Power Supply:
    Acer
    Aw, I think my brain is fried or something. All I had to do is put the SSD with Win 10 still on it in place of the Linux SSD, and I am good to go. Dah! We had put in a 1 TB SSD that I was going to put Windows on, but why bother when Windows was already on the smaller SSD? SO, I have slightly over 1.2 TB on the entire system now.
    So this problem is solved, but there really wasn't a problem in the first place, just me! Thanks.
     
    allheart55 (Cindy E) likes this.

Share This Page