1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

[Solved] IE problems

Discussion in 'Browser Issues' started by Tony Loly, May 16, 2019.

  1. Tony Loly

    Tony Loly Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    183
    Location:
    Solihull, West Midlands
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I am having problems with Internet Explorer, very slow, not responding, long running script, all the usual plus adverts constantly trying too load on the right hand side.
    I have no such issues with Chrome, Firefox or Opera but all my bookmarks/favourites are on IE and I don't know how to move them to another browser.
    I am on an all in one PC with Windows 7.

    Thoughts, help anyone?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,070
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Try resetting IE.
    Go to the gear in the upper right corner.
    Select Internet Options.
    Look at the Advanced tab.
    Click on the Reset button.
     
  3. Tony Loly

    Tony Loly Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    183
    Location:
    Solihull, West Midlands
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Thanks Tony, seems better now.
     
  4. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    The problem with IE is Microsoft is not putting any more effort into IE anymore.There development time is all going into Edge now.It is probably better to use another browser since IE is not going to get any more updates.I have had several people have the same problem with IE and it always slows down the more it is used.Also gets the script errors again.
     
    allheart55 (Cindy E) and Tony D like this.
  5. Tony Loly

    Tony Loly Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    183
    Location:
    Solihull, West Midlands
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Thanks IJAC, am more than happy to do that, problem is I have sixty or so favs on IE that I do not know how to, easily, transfer?
     
  6. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    I believe there is a export setting in Chrome and Firefox you could export them.I am not sure exactly but maybe some one else will chime in and help.I have mine all backed up so I just import from a file never did from browser to browser.Have to leave now but if you don't get a answer I will look into it when I get back.
     
  7. Rustys

    Rustys Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,469
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    Hard Drive:
    Yes
    Graphics Card:
    4 D
    Power Supply:
    Solar
    Should ask if you want to import in you Favorites (Bookmarks) once the new browser is installed and first ran. You can also do a manual transfer.

    Open Internet Explorer
    Click File (from the pull down menus)
    Select Import and Export...
    Put the button in Export to a file
    Click Next
    Put tics in what you want
    Click Next
    Click Next
    If you want to change where the file is save and name other wise make note of it
    Click Export
    Click Finish

    To import would depend on which Browser you choose to use.
     
    allheart55 (Cindy E), IJAC and Tony D like this.
  8. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    Thanks Rustys for helping I haven't done it for such a long time I couldn't remember and I had to leave so couldn't look it up.Hope this will help Tony Loly with his problem.
     
    Rustys likes this.
  9. Tony Loly

    Tony Loly Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    183
    Location:
    Solihull, West Midlands
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Thanks everyone, all most helpful.
     

Share This Page