1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

How to increase network connection speed?

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by Frustrated_One, Nov 16, 2016.

  1. Frustrated_One

    Frustrated_One Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2016
    Messages:
    32
    Operating System:
    Windows 8
    Hey guys,

    Since yesterday, my connection time for each internet page has suddenly blown out to 30 seconds or longer.
    For example, after typing in google.com.au, I am left watching a blank page with "connecting" in the tab and a spinning circle.
    (see attached screenshot)

    I checked my internet speed with Ookla, and it's over 40 Mbps. (see screenshot)
    It took many attempts to get this test up and running as it kept timing out.

    So what is the problem likely to be and how can I diagnose and fix it?

    A while back I disabled many Windows services (I use VISTA), according to the Black Viper site,
    and things have been going well until now.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,139
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Hello and welcome. I understand the "Frustrated_One".

    Have you tried resetting your modem/router? Just remove power for 30 seconds and re-apply power.

    Of course, restart your computer.

    Oh tell us a bit about your network and computer. Are you wired or wireless? Modem / Router make and model.

    Do you know how to use PING? If so, PING a few sites, like google.com and then try Ping to the resolved IP address.
     
  3. Frustrated_One

    Frustrated_One Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2016
    Messages:
    32
    Operating System:
    Windows 8
    Thanks Tony,

    It's a wireless network, and was working well until today.

    I had already restarted my computer which didn't help.
    I have now reset the modem and it hasn't helped either.

    On the screenshot, you can see that the PING time was 9ms (on Ookla test).

    I used http://ping.eu/ping/
    and it gave these results for google.com.au

    --- PING www.google.com.au (172.217.22.163) 56(84) bytes of data. ---
    64 bytes from 172.217.22.163: icmp_seq=1 ttl=52 time=29.5 ms
    64 bytes from 172.217.22.163: icmp_seq=2 ttl=52 time=29.5 ms
    64 bytes from 172.217.22.163: icmp_seq=3 ttl=52 time=29.4 ms
    64 bytes from 172.217.22.163: icmp_seq=4 ttl=52 time=29.5 ms


    --- www.google.com.au ping statistics ---
    packets transmitted 4
    received 4
    packet loss 0 %
    time 3004 ms


    --- Round Trip Time (rtt) ---
    min 29.496 ms
    avg 29.507 ms
    max 29.517 ms
    mdev 0.008 ms
     
  4. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,139
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    That 9 ms to Ookla is decent. The 29 ms is not.

    You can use the Tracert command to see how long it takes to get to each node between you and the intended website.
    Use it like PING. e.g. tracert www.google.com.au

    Also, try switching your DNS to Open DSN. Here's instructions https://use.opendns.com/

    Note: I'm in the USA and not familiar with Ookla. Around here we're on Verizon or Comcast.
     
  5. Frustrated_One

    Frustrated_One Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2016
    Messages:
    32
    Operating System:
    Windows 8
    I don't think the 29ms is the issue.
    The time I wait for a website to come up is about 30-60 seconds.
    That is 30,000ms.

    I tried to change to open DNS, but when I click on the network properties button (which is necessary to get the the settings), nothing happens.
    So it seems that the Windows Vista software is now bugged and not letting me make changes.

    I will do a system restore back to an earlier time and see if this fixes it.
     
  6. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,139
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Good idea.
     
  7. Rustys

    Rustys Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,498
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    Hard Drive:
    Yes
    Graphics Card:
    4 D
    Power Supply:
    Solar
    1. Have you contacted your ISP to see if they know of any issues in your area?
    2. If the system restore does not help there are some commands that we can run that may help.
     
    Tony D likes this.
  8. Frustrated_One

    Frustrated_One Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2016
    Messages:
    32
    Operating System:
    Windows 8
    Hi Tony,

    After the system restore, I was able to get into the DNS settings.
    Changing to OPEN DNS seems to have improved things greatly.
    eg. the time for Google.com.au to appear has come down from 30 seconds to about 2 seconds!

    If you have any other tips for making this even faster, that would be great.

    Thanks so much for your advice.

    And Rustys, you are probably right that my ISP is having issues.
     
    Rustys likes this.
  9. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,139
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Rusty will have some commands to flush out and reset your network.
     
  10. Rustys

    Rustys Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,498
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    Hard Drive:
    Yes
    Graphics Card:
    4 D
    Power Supply:
    Solar
    Open an Administrator Command prompt.

    Click Start in the Search box on the bottom type CMD
    Right Click
    on the CMD and select Run as Administrator

    Now type the following commands in and the reboot the system. These will just clear out some of the old networking information.

    ipconfig /flushdns
    ipconfig /release
    ipconfig /renew
    netsh winsock reset


    Do not forge to reboot for the settings to work properly. Try it for a while and let us know.
     
    Tony D likes this.

Share This Page