1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

How Do You Access The Nvidia Directory Though Cmd Prompt?

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by Maikky, Mar 25, 2012.

  1. Maikky

    Maikky

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Houston
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista Enterprise
    I've tried cd nvidia dir, no dice .

    reason, I'm trying to fix a nvlddmkm.sys error that won't let me start and makes my display all weird, I'm trying this method but stuck on the part where I have to access the nvidia directory

    ""I have found and fixed the problem today. This is what appears to happen.
    during the installation of the most current drivers 100.65 Vista, an OLD file
    nvlddmkm.sys is copied into windows/system32/drivers and not the current one
    in the install. As a result the new drivers are attempting to access a file
    dated 11/2006 instead of 2/2007 ver 7.15.11.0065 which is in the newest WHQL
    driver ver 100.65 vista 32.

    Fix: Go to windows/system32/drivers and rename nvlddmkm.sys to
    nvlddmkm.sys.old. Go to the nvidia directory and find the file nvlddmkm.sy_
    and copy it to windows/system32. Using the cmd window (DOS box) type
    EXPAND.EXE nvlddmkm.sy_ nvlddmkm.sys. When the expansion is complete, copy
    the new nvlddmkm.sys to windows/system32/drivers and restart the computer.

    Your computer should now work properly.

    You will notice that any uninstall and reinstall of nvidia drivers will not
    remove the old nvlddmkm.sys file and will not overwrite it with the newer
    version. You have to do it manually. I do not know why this happens but who
    cares as long it is fixed.""
     
  2. BeeCeeBee

    BeeCeeBee ADMINISTRATOR IN MEMORY

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    7,201
    Location:
    New Jersey "Stronger than the Storm"
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I am vista challenged since I never used it. :) However, make sure that you have your comptuer set to view hidden files and then do a search for Nvidia and "nlddmkm" and open the containing folder.

    In XP you would need to open a search . In W7 you could just type it in the search box on the start menu. My guess is that Vista is the same as XP in this regard but I honestly don't know.
     
  3. Maikky

    Maikky

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Houston
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista Enterprise
    I can't even log on, I'm using system recovery tools Cmd Prompt, so I can't really change and search .
     
  4. BeeCeeBee

    BeeCeeBee ADMINISTRATOR IN MEMORY

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    7,201
    Location:
    New Jersey "Stronger than the Storm"
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Ah, good point. is this nvidia card separate or is it an on board card? How many monitor outputs are you showing and are they together or a distance apart on the back of the case. (Of course this is usually the point when someone tells me it is a laptop. :)
     
  5. Maikky

    Maikky

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Houston
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista Enterprise
    Its the main card, only one output .
     
  6. Match

    Match Registered Members

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4,175
    Location:
    Wolverhampton, UK.
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Abit AN52
    CPU:
    AMD Athlon dual core 5000+
    Memory:
    4 Gig Corsair
    Hard Drive:
    160 Gb Hitachi 500 Gb Western Digital
    Graphics Card:
    Radion XFX 4650
    Power Supply:
    550W EZcool
    Haven't got time to go into specifics at the moment but have a look here and see if it helps if not I'll look back later when I have more time.

    http://dosprompt.info/

    but you should be able to access it through windows in safe mode as it will use the windows generic drivers, not the Nvidia ones.
     

Share This Page