1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.

Help Wiping Hard Drive

Discussion in 'Windows Home Server' started by swordtheguy, Apr 25, 2010.

  1. swordtheguy

    swordtheguy

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    U.S.A. Florida
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    First off, hello everyone.

    I recently got a computer from my friend, which he got from the school he works at. I was already planning on wiping it, however it turns out that the admin account was the one used and it requires a password to login, which neither of us know. I runs Windows 2000 and I am planning on putting XP on it. So my question, how do I wipe and reformat this rig without logging in?
     
  2. Patrick

    Patrick Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    Phoenix, Az
    Operating System:
    Windows 8
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Gigabyte ep45-ud3p
    CPU:
    Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 3.2ghz
    Memory:
    Corsair XMS2 4gigs
    Hard Drive:
    OCZ Technology 30 GB Vertex Series SATA II Solid State Drive, And a couple other HDD's for storage
    Graphics Card:
    XFX Radeon HD 4870
    Power Supply:
    Antec 750w
    Put the os disc in and and boot from that there should be an option to format the hard drive
     
  3. Dalo Harkin

    Dalo Harkin Registered Members

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,820
    Location:
    Stockport near Manchester
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS - are there any others worth buying?
    CPU:
    Q6600 at 4.0Ghz per core (Watercooled)
    Memory:
    OCZ PC8500 4x1GB sticks
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung - all the way
    Graphics Card:
    XFX 260GTX rev 1
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 600Watt
    regardless what OS you are planning on using you will need to as Patrick has said put the OS disk in the Optical drive and then boot the PC to the BIOS screen and then change the first boot device to CD/DVD rom if it is not already on that.
    when its starting the boot up process it will require a format of the HDD before you install the OS
     
  4. kojak

    kojak Inactive

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    553
    Location:
    3rd rock from the sun

    User account passwords are a non-issue when formatting the drive.

    Personally, I wipe my drives before formatting. In this way,
    I have complete confidence the O.S. installation is "fresh".
     
  5. Mara

    Mara Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,261
    Location:
    British Columbia, Canada
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Home
    Hi Swordtheguy - and welcome!

    Hope you've got your drive reformatted easily and your computer is up and running again perfectly too! Would you please be kind enough let us know how it went?

    And please know you are welcome to simply pop into any of the existing Threads or start another of your own, including in our Community Lounge area - and again, welcome to you Swordtheguy - it's nice to have you here!:)
     
  6. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Members

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Location:
    Belgium - Antwerp
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Home
    I usually zero my harddisk to remove any possible trace of malware, before I install an OS.
    In Malware Forums malware-removers told me that this is a safer method than a format of Windows.
     
  7. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    9,831
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    I never have any malware so that is not a consideration for me. When I
    am going to toss a hard drive out or if I am selling a previously owned
    computer to someone, I'll use Acronis drive cleanser. It zero's the
    drive, making 4 complete passes as per the data destruction standard . .
    No additional third party software such as Active @ KillDisK is needed
    or necessary. Acronis is an extremely versatile piece of software .
     
  8. BeeCeeBee

    BeeCeeBee ADMINISTRATOR IN MEMORY

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    7,201
    Location:
    New Jersey "Stronger than the Storm"
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Leaving aside the fact that this member posted his question 6 months ago and then never returned for an answer, I do not understand all this constant installation of operating systems. I can understand it from Allheart who does this as a business but not for a regular user. I have noted that even one of our Malware Removal Specialists has indicated his dismay when people format and reinstall instead of getting to the root of a problem.
     
  9. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Members

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Location:
    Belgium - Antwerp
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Home
    That's what happens when computer-experts contradict eachother in different forums : regular users, like me get confused. Each time I have to make my own choice between contradicting opinions. ;)
     
  10. BeeCeeBee

    BeeCeeBee ADMINISTRATOR IN MEMORY

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    7,201
    Location:
    New Jersey "Stronger than the Storm"
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Well it is time to realize that most infections come from poor practices on the internet. Bases on your introduction you seem to be a bit plagued by recurring infections. Why is that do you think?

    In any event this thread is about help in wiping a hard drive. It is 6 months old and need not be extended.
     

Share This Page