1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

Hardware Malfunction

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by alihioo, Apr 7, 2022.

  1. alihioo

    alihioo Registered Members

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2022
    Messages:
    5
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Hello everyone

    I have a Dell optiplex 380 desktop pc

    It was showing a blue screen

    “ Hardware malfunction “

    Call your hardware vendor for support

    MNI : Parity check / memory parity error

    “”” the system has halted “”


    I removed the Ram and cleaned it well then I turned on the PC, it started working normally, but after an hour I restarted the computer and it showed the same problem again…..

    Anyone could tell me what is the exact problem please ? Thank you in advance
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,649
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Hello and welcome Alihioo, You may have a faulty RAM module. If you have more than one RAM module, remove one and see what happens. If the problem persists, put that module back in and remove the other module. You can also try swapping modules in the RAM slots.

    While doing to, please be aware of possible static discharge as that can damage computer components.
     
    IJAC likes this.
  3. alihioo

    alihioo Registered Members

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2022
    Messages:
    5
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I did it and started working normally , but after an hour it happened again
     
  4. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,649
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    What did you do? If you ended up putting all the same RAM back in, that doesn't solve anything.
     
    IJAC likes this.
  5. alihioo

    alihioo Registered Members

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2022
    Messages:
    5
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I tried to change Ram slots
    And cleaned the ram well
    It happened again
     
  6. plodr

    plodr CHF Advisor CHF Advisers

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Messages:
    880
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    That computer is from 2005 so it is 17 years old. There are 2 DIMM slots and it accepts up to 4 GB of RAM so you should have a 2GB stick in each slot. Do you?
     
  7. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,649
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
     
  8. alihioo

    alihioo Registered Members

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2022
    Messages:
    5
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Yes it has two slots and. each slot I had 2 GB Ram And it was working normally, after I removed one of Ram it started showing blue screen.
    Do you think that the problem is that there should be 4 GB of Ram
     
  9. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,649
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    The problem is not because you have only 2 GB of RAM. That will only cause your computer to run slower, but not to receive hardware failure notices.

    So you removed one of the RAM modules and you're still seeing the problem. The problem may be the RAM module that's still installed. Put the RAM that you removed back in and remove the one that's in there.
     
    allheart55 (Cindy E) and IJAC like this.
  10. alihioo

    alihioo Registered Members

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2022
    Messages:
    5
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I cleaned the Ram and Ram slot with a cleaner, and then i put 2 GB of Ram it is now working correctly i hope it won't happen again

    it is under the test
     

Share This Page