1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

Formating a HD in Linux

Discussion in 'Linux' started by IJAC, Jan 31, 2019.

  1. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    I was wondering how to format a external USB hard drive in Manjaro.This would be a brand new SSD drive.I know how to start in windows thru the disk management and initialize it then format it.I don't know how to do it in Manjaro or any other Linux distro but if someone could point me in the right direction I would appreciate it.I am trying to do everything in Linux now that I did in windows.
    Thanks
    ijac
     
  2. Rustys

    Rustys Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,469
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    Hard Drive:
    Yes
    Graphics Card:
    4 D
    Power Supply:
    Solar
    Cinnamon still right?

    Click on the Application Launcher (Start Menu) and type Disk which is Linux(s) Disk Management. Not all yet most of them have this preinstalled.

    If it is not there can be installed using pacman
    Open Pacman and do a search for Disk
    If I remember correctly it is called gnome-disk-utility

    Let me know if you get stuck.
     
  3. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    You are correct Cinnamon. Thanks Rustys I will give it a try maybe later I am working on a messed up windows machine now. It was full of malware just finishing up my brain is fried thanks for the info.
     
  4. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    I just did a quick look and it is installed.
     
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2019
  5. Rustys

    Rustys Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,469
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    Hard Drive:
    Yes
    Graphics Card:
    4 D
    Power Supply:
    Solar
    Not a problem any time.

    DIE malware DIE.
     
  6. Seth Anthony

    Seth Anthony Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    800
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Altaire 8800
    CPU:
    Modified Texas Instruments calculator
    Memory:
    2 transistor tubes
    Hard Drive:
    pen and paper
    Graphics Card:
    TV ready
    Power Supply:
    Mouse on a wheel
    DIE thieves DIE.

    FTFY;)
     
    Rustys likes this.
  7. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    I did some more looking around and I found the disk utility and now I will have some fun.I bought (2) 250GB SSD I am going to format them and install a couple of different distro's of Linux.I figure if I have more distro's that is more I can mess up.

    Malware and thieves are no more all eradicated.I am afraid he will be back though.He is using Norton and it looks like he goes to some questionable sites.All I can do is make suggestions whether he follows them is up to him.You can lead a horse to water but can't make him drink.
     
    allheart55 (Cindy E) likes this.
  8. plodr

    plodr CHF Advisor CHF Advisers

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Messages:
    381
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    It's been years since I actually installed linux and the distro, PCLinux OS formatted the drive.
    I suspect distros will offer to format the drive in several different file system types when you try to install.
     
  9. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    Yes I know Linux will but these are brand new drives so I wasn't sure all is good I am on my way.I also wanted to find out how to do it in Linux Manjaro since this is a new version for me.I usually run Mint and there are some differences between Mint and Manjaro especially in the terminal. I am totally Linux now on my main machine but I have a dual boot with windows I am going to install 2 more versions of Linux on the 2 new drives I bought.I am just bored and looking for something else to work on in Linux.
     
  10. Rustys

    Rustys Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,469
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    Hard Drive:
    Yes
    Graphics Card:
    4 D
    Power Supply:
    Solar
    Which distros and desktop environments are you planning on playing with?
     
  11. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    I want to try out Mint Mate first not sure what other one.Maybe some different Manjaro ones too.I have a drawer full of different distros on DVD's /CD's so my choice is endless but my money isn't for more hard drives.Do you have any suggestions for some that would be good to try?
     
  12. Rustys

    Rustys Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,469
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    Hard Drive:
    Yes
    Graphics Card:
    4 D
    Power Supply:
    Solar
    In no particular order Linux distros and Desktop Environments I have tried.

    Mint until 17.3 then for me was to unstable for my liking.
    Cinnamon
    Mate
    XFCE (Not a fan)

    For Manjaro I have used
    KDE
    Cinnamon
    Gnome

    Looking at trying for Manjaro
    Budgie
    Mate
    Deepin

    Ubuntu after version 15 I quit never got it to work correctly for my satisfaction.
     
  13. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    Thanks Rustys maybe that was some of the trouble I was having in Mint being unstable.I wasn't to fond of Ubuntu with the panel on the left side of the desktop.Also I had problems with it being unstable.I have tried Mepis a while ago and really liked it.Mepis is Debian based like Mint so I may do that instead of Mint and try some of the Manjaro ones you recommended. Thanks for the recommendations I will play around this week have a good one.
     
  14. Rustys

    Rustys Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,469
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    Hard Drive:
    Yes
    Graphics Card:
    4 D
    Power Supply:
    Solar
    I was not meaning that Mint was unstable it was just for my purpose it was not that stable and kept crashing on the system it running on. Even still was more stable than windows. o_O

    Sorry for the confusion.
     
  15. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    No problem I understand it also did crash on me also once in a while. I have to believe that anything is better than the way MS does things now with the updates.
     
  16. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    Just an update on my Linux Distro installs.I now have a quad boot system 1) Manjaro Cinnamon 2) Manjaro Mate 3) Mint Mate and of coarse have to have Windows 10 as 4). I really like Manjaro Mate better than Cinnamon so I may switch things around.I have it set up so I need to press F8 for the boot order that way I can pick what ever HD I want.I know there are other ways but this works for now.So far so good thanks again for the tips on Manjaro really like it I am learning more as I use it.
    (I am sure Tony will get a good laugh about all my hard drives he always kids me about having to many.)
     
    allheart55 (Cindy E) likes this.
  17. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,070
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    You can never have enough hard drives (or SSDs).
     
    Rustys likes this.
  18. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    Yep you are correct Tony more is always better.I did have one hiccup though my wife had her I Pod hooked up to my PC charging it and some how I wiped it out.All is good now I reinstalled all her stuff.
     
  19. Rustys

    Rustys Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,469
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    Hard Drive:
    Yes
    Graphics Card:
    4 D
    Power Supply:
    Solar
    One of these days I will attempt the one installed of Manjaro and different Desktop Environments. That way I do not have to remember which Home folder is that in.

    Like I said just not that gutsy yet.

    Did try the 32 bit on an old XP laptop. Was ok for it being XFCE (ewww).
     
  20. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    I understand sometimes me being gutsy gets me in trouble though. Being cautious is a good thing I heard.
     
    Rustys likes this.

Share This Page