1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

[Solved] Factory reset Ipod Shuffle

Discussion in 'iPads, iPods & iPhones' started by FloydPalmer, Sep 26, 2016.

  1. FloydPalmer

    FloydPalmer Registered Members

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Messages:
    143
    Location:
    UK
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I'm selling my Ipod shuffle but need to factory reset it before dispatching to the new buyer.

    How do I go about this? Did a brief search but it just seemed to say to turn off and on?
     
  2. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,193
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    1. Plug the Shuffle into your computer.
    2. Select the icon for the shuffle. It should be listed toward the upper-left corner of the iTunes window.
    3. Choose “Summary” in the left pane.
    4. Select “Restore iPod…“.


    Source: http://www.technipages.com/how-to-reset-ipod-shuffle
     
    FloydPalmer, Rustys and Tony D like this.
  3. FloydPalmer

    FloydPalmer Registered Members

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Messages:
    143
    Location:
    UK
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Thanks! Great, means will have to reinstall ITunes to do this unless there's another way?
     
  4. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    I know of no other way. Load up iTunes and give it a go.
     
    FloydPalmer likes this.
  5. FloydPalmer

    FloydPalmer Registered Members

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Messages:
    143
    Location:
    UK
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I've downloaded the latest Itunes but the above steps don't appear at all. I can't find the summary page and right click on my Ipod only brings up 'Eject/Transfer Warnings'
     
  6. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Does the Shuffle show up at all in iTunes? It should be in the left-hand pane.
     
  7. FloydPalmer

    FloydPalmer Registered Members

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Messages:
    143
    Location:
    UK
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    There is a Shuffle all button on the right hand side and an edit playlist order option. I don't know if it helps but the laptop I'm using is different to the one which I used to import the original songs
     
  8. Rustys

    Rustys Registered Members

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,656
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    Hard Drive:
    Yes
    Graphics Card:
    4 D
    Power Supply:
    Solar
    Should not matter and the Shuffle that you are describing is the one to used to shuffle the playing songs.

    When you have iTunes running and plug in the iPod what happens?

    Have you Synced up the iPod so you can do the Reset?
     
    FloydPalmer and Tony D like this.
  9. FloydPalmer

    FloydPalmer Registered Members

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Messages:
    143
    Location:
    UK
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Thanks for your help guys - I'm just a living example that despite wearing spectacles, I can still miss things! All sorted.
     
    Rustys and allheart55 (Cindy E) like this.
  10. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,193
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    That's great, thanks for letting us know, Floyd!
     
  11. rogerflash

    rogerflash

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Thank you so much! Very useful recommendations
     

Share This Page