1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

Extreme Overclocking

Discussion in 'Overclocking / Modding' started by Match, Oct 2, 2009.

  1. Match

    Match Registered Members

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4,175
    Location:
    Wolverhampton, UK.
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Abit AN52
    CPU:
    AMD Athlon dual core 5000+
    Memory:
    4 Gig Corsair
    Hard Drive:
    160 Gb Hitachi 500 Gb Western Digital
    Graphics Card:
    Radion XFX 4650
    Power Supply:
    550W EZcool
    If you think this is Extreme

    BBC NEWS | Technology | Tech Know: Nitrogen-cooled PCs

    Then what's this

    [ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wB0JodKgZ0A&feature=player_embedded#"]YouTube - AMD Phenom II Overclocked to 6.5GHz - New World Record for 3DMark[/ame]

    PS. DON'T TRY THIS AT HOME [​IMG]
     
  2. Dalo Harkin

    Dalo Harkin Registered Members

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,820
    Location:
    Stockport near Manchester
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS - are there any others worth buying?
    CPU:
    Q6600 at 4.0Ghz per core (Watercooled)
    Memory:
    OCZ PC8500 4x1GB sticks
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung - all the way
    Graphics Card:
    XFX 260GTX rev 1
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 600Watt
    all in a days work :D
     
  3. SpiffyC

    SpiffyC Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Location:
    Canada
    Operating System:
    Windows 8
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS P8Z77-V LGA 1155
    CPU:
    Intel i7 3770K @Stock
    Memory:
    8Gb Mushkin RAM
    Hard Drive:
    WD 1TB HDD for data, and one Corsair Force 120gb for OS, games, and progs
    Graphics Card:
    GIGABYTE Windforce OC Nvidia GTX 670
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR Professional Series HX750 750W
    that makes my processor look like poop. mine is 2.5 vs. 6.5! thats amazing!
     
  4. Match

    Match Registered Members

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4,175
    Location:
    Wolverhampton, UK.
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Abit AN52
    CPU:
    AMD Athlon dual core 5000+
    Memory:
    4 Gig Corsair
    Hard Drive:
    160 Gb Hitachi 500 Gb Western Digital
    Graphics Card:
    Radion XFX 4650
    Power Supply:
    550W EZcool
    Ahh but your's will work for years at 2.5, bet they are talking days if not less
     
  5. Dalo Harkin

    Dalo Harkin Registered Members

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,820
    Location:
    Stockport near Manchester
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS - are there any others worth buying?
    CPU:
    Q6600 at 4.0Ghz per core (Watercooled)
    Memory:
    OCZ PC8500 4x1GB sticks
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung - all the way
    Graphics Card:
    XFX 260GTX rev 1
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 600Watt
    Well the fact that my cores run at 4GHz each on water doesnt seem bad at all :D
     
  6. Patrick

    Patrick Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    Phoenix, Az
    Operating System:
    Windows 8
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Gigabyte ep45-ud3p
    CPU:
    Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 3.2ghz
    Memory:
    Corsair XMS2 4gigs
    Hard Drive:
    OCZ Technology 30 GB Vertex Series SATA II Solid State Drive, And a couple other HDD's for storage
    Graphics Card:
    XFX Radeon HD 4870
    Power Supply:
    Antec 750w
    4ghz that's nice, I only have mine at 3.2ghz on air, but I did not really press it.
     
  7. Match

    Match Registered Members

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4,175
    Location:
    Wolverhampton, UK.
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Abit AN52
    CPU:
    AMD Athlon dual core 5000+
    Memory:
    4 Gig Corsair
    Hard Drive:
    160 Gb Hitachi 500 Gb Western Digital
    Graphics Card:
    Radion XFX 4650
    Power Supply:
    550W EZcool
    I'm quite happy with mine running at 3Ghz, 20% overclocked, I think that a Phenom Quad core will be next on the CPU Upgrade list, But I want a monitor and hard drive first, hello Mr Xmass that was a hint ;)
     
  8. DirtyPolo

    DirtyPolo Inactive Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    640
    Location:
    Malvern, England
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Asus P5K Premium Black Pearl
    CPU:
    Intel Q6600 @ 3.3GHz
    Memory:
    2GB OCZ Reaper + 4GB Crucial Ballistix
    Graphics Card:
    ATI Radeon HD6950 - Unlocked to 6970.
    I still need to sort my OC out *cough* not sure if it's the *cough* PSU voltages or something else but my BIOS won't show me my voltages as apparently *cough* it should *cough* :)

    I think I have swine flu :p
     
  9. Match

    Match Registered Members

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4,175
    Location:
    Wolverhampton, UK.
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Abit AN52
    CPU:
    AMD Athlon dual core 5000+
    Memory:
    4 Gig Corsair
    Hard Drive:
    160 Gb Hitachi 500 Gb Western Digital
    Graphics Card:
    Radion XFX 4650
    Power Supply:
    550W EZcool
    LOL if you have swine flu DO NOT GO TO YOUR DOCTORS, DO NOT GO TO YOUR LOCAL PHARMACY FOR FLU MEDICINES, GO HOME AND PHONE THE NHS HELP LINE.

    if you would like more help or advice then here is the link

    Swine flu - Introduction

    but this bit really makes me laugh

    Personally I would advise you to Update your Antivirus Software and run a full scan, this will solve your virus problem, but I think to get your temperature and voltages you will have to flash your Bois or look in the right place.

    "Cough" Damn it is contagious "cough"
     
  10. DirtyPolo

    DirtyPolo Inactive Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    640
    Location:
    Malvern, England
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Asus P5K Premium Black Pearl
    CPU:
    Intel Q6600 @ 3.3GHz
    Memory:
    2GB OCZ Reaper + 4GB Crucial Ballistix
    Graphics Card:
    ATI Radeon HD6950 - Unlocked to 6970.
    There is nowhere on the BIOS to show voltages and BIOS has been flashed ;)

    As for the Swine flu, thats passed, I'm now into Fresher's Flu :)
     
  11. Patrick

    Patrick Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    Phoenix, Az
    Operating System:
    Windows 8
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Gigabyte ep45-ud3p
    CPU:
    Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 3.2ghz
    Memory:
    Corsair XMS2 4gigs
    Hard Drive:
    OCZ Technology 30 GB Vertex Series SATA II Solid State Drive, And a couple other HDD's for storage
    Graphics Card:
    XFX Radeon HD 4870
    Power Supply:
    Antec 750w
    I had to hit CTRL + F1 for my computer to show some of the voltages,(while i was in the tweaker part of my bios) it was locked until i did that
     
  12. Dalo Harkin

    Dalo Harkin Registered Members

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,820
    Location:
    Stockport near Manchester
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS - are there any others worth buying?
    CPU:
    Q6600 at 4.0Ghz per core (Watercooled)
    Memory:
    OCZ PC8500 4x1GB sticks
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung - all the way
    Graphics Card:
    XFX 260GTX rev 1
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 600Watt
    Matt now knows that the PSU Voltages CAN be found in the BIOS
     
  13. DirtyPolo

    DirtyPolo Inactive Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    640
    Location:
    Malvern, England
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Asus P5K Premium Black Pearl
    CPU:
    Intel Q6600 @ 3.3GHz
    Memory:
    2GB OCZ Reaper + 4GB Crucial Ballistix
    Graphics Card:
    ATI Radeon HD6950 - Unlocked to 6970.
    Took someone long enough to show me :)
     

Share This Page