1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.

[Solved] Ethernet cable not connected

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Mokles, Jul 31, 2018.

  1. Mokles

    Mokles Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2018
    Messages:
    34
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Hi, I'm being told by my pc that the ethernet cable isn't connected. I've done all the usual stuff i.e. checked the cable, tried it in different ports, tried a different cable, switched everything off and left it, all to no avail. I have 4 ports on my router and I know they're ok because I use one to connect a powerline adapter and I've tried that in the different ports. Whichever port I plug the ethernet cable into the LED doesn't stay constant whereas the powerline one does. I've also tried changing the adapter's Duplex settings and for a while thought I'd solved it as the LED light stayed constant and the pc was thinking about it, but then decided I was connected to an unknown network and wouldn't play ball. Any ideas as to what else I could try pleeese?
     
  2. Seth Anthony

    Seth Anthony Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    645
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Altaire 8800
    CPU:
    Modified Texas Instruments calculator
    Memory:
    2 transistor tubes
    Hard Drive:
    pen and paper
    Graphics Card:
    TV ready
    Power Supply:
    Mouse on a wheel
    Go into device manager, right click on the network adapter and choose uninstall. Don't delete the driver if given that option. When that's done, right click on any device and choose "Scan for Hardware Changes". That will re-install the network card.

    If that doesn't work, go to the computer manufacturers site, then download and install the driver.
     
  3. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,756
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    If after following Seth's advice it's still exhibiting the same symptoms, you may simply have a failed network card. They're pretty inexpensive.
     
  4. Rustys

    Rustys Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,282
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    Graphics Card:
    4 D
    Power Supply:
    Solar
    This could be due to the thunderstorm that you stated passed through in this post.

    Ethernet connection not working.
     
  5. Mokles

    Mokles Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2018
    Messages:
    34
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    ok, so what's going on here, I thought i was on two different forums????
     
  6. Mokles

    Mokles Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2018
    Messages:
    34
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Done the first part and it didn't work, how can I access the site and download the driver when I can't access the internet on than pc? Can I download it to my laptop and then move it?
     
  7. Seth Anthony

    Seth Anthony Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    645
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Altaire 8800
    CPU:
    Modified Texas Instruments calculator
    Memory:
    2 transistor tubes
    Hard Drive:
    pen and paper
    Graphics Card:
    TV ready
    Power Supply:
    Mouse on a wheel
    Yes.

    If that still doesn't work, then the card is probably defective. You could replace it, or perhaps consider a USB wireless.
     
  8. Rustys

    Rustys Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,282
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    Graphics Card:
    4 D
    Power Supply:
    Solar
    You are on two different forums.
    They are two different forums. The down side to that is we do not always know what was tried and if we or they have you preform some action can turn the system into a paper weight. Some forums have a certain way of having things in a certain order.

    If we do not know what was done on the system we can do a lot of repeats and counter productive information.
     
  9. Mokles

    Mokles Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2018
    Messages:
    34
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I've decided it might just be easier if I make the pc wireless by getting a usb network adapter, however that's presenting a new problem, that being that there isn't a model number on my router(there's a hardware number i.e. B1) and I understand that I need this to enable me to get a usb adapter with the same protocol as my router. Any ideas? Also any recommendations as to which I should be looking at?
     
  10. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,756
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    No model number? That's strange. Did your Internet Service Provider provide it?

    You'll need to get into the router to see what your network ID (SSID) and wireless network password are or even if you have a password-protected wireless network.
     
  11. Mokles

    Mokles Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2018
    Messages:
    34
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Yes,, they did, and yes there is a password and I have that.
     
  12. Mokles

    Mokles Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2018
    Messages:
    34
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Ok, so you must be on both forums to have linked me to here.
    The truth is I hadn't intended being on TWO forums, but when I searched for the other one (of which I've been a member since 2009)earlier this year I couldn't locate it and that's when I discovered this one which I thought might have been a reincarnation since the names are so similar.
    Then I stumbled on the first one the other day and the rest is history as they say. I wouldn't have duplicated the thread, but there was no reply on the other forum.
     
  13. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,756
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Ask them what protocol it uses. We're looking for something like 802.11 followed by a letter or two.
    It'll probably be 802.11 n or 802.11 ac. Then look for a USB network adapter with the same protocol.
     
  14. Mokles

    Mokles Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2018
    Messages:
    34
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I've just accessed my router info and it doesn't give the numbers 802.11 anywhere, however under "Wireless Mode" it has "B/G/N(Mixed Mode) which letters correspond to three of the four router/adapter types. What do you think?
     
  15. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,756
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Of those, B is the oldest; N is the newest. Get a wireless network adapter with the 'N' designation.
     
  16. Mokles

    Mokles Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2018
    Messages:
    34
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Thanks everyone, I bought a wireless network adapter today and I'm up and running again. :clapping:
     
  17. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,756
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Thanks for the good news.
     

Share This Page