1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

Disk speed used up by unknown program

Discussion in 'Is my Computer infected?' started by Nivloc, Aug 11, 2016.

  1. Nivloc

    Nivloc Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    I've been having trouble for around two weeks, maybe more, where my computer will just freeze. Recently, I started keeping task manager up so I could see what the problem was.
    upload_2016-8-11_12-22-35.png

    99% of the time, my computer runs fine. But from time to time, maybe tens times a day that I notice it, this happens.
    I've run 4 virus scans: Avira, MalwareBytes, AVG, and AVG with all of the deep options enabled. They found nothing, just two PUPs.
    But the problem is still there.

    When my computer is running normally, task manager looks like this:
    upload_2016-8-11_12-24-35.png

    Hardware specs:
    8 GB RAM
    2Ghz AMD A8-6410 processor
    64-bit Windows 10
    SSD with 92GB partition


    Does this seem like an infection? If so, why have all the antivirus programs failed to find anything?
     
  2. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    9,962
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    Hello Nivloc and Welcome to Computer Help Forums.
    It could be any number of things that cause this.
    Have you run any tests on the hard drive?
     
  3. Rustys

    Rustys Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,473
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    Hard Drive:
    Yes
    Graphics Card:
    4 D
    Power Supply:
    Solar
    When does this happen?

    How often?

    What are you doing on the system when this does happen?
     
  4. Nivloc

    Nivloc Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    It happens seemingly randomly. I can only notice it while I am doing something, of course--I can't notice when my computer stops doing nothing for 1-10 seconds. It can happen when I'm working with Microsoft office, browsing the internet, playing games--anything. I've got no patterns and no exclusions.
    I don't know for sure how often this happens. It could be anywhere from every half hour on a precise schedule to normal distribution with an average of every three hours. I haven't been logging it, so I just don't know.
    I have run no tests on the hard drive. The only things I have done is run the aforementioned antivirus scans and seen the effect displayed in the pictures. I've been looking at task manager when it happened perhaps 5-7 times; enough repetition that I am confident those pictures demonstrate either a symptom or cause of the problem.

    If there's a test you'd like me to run, point me towards it and I'll do it.
    If it comes down to it, I could try factory resetting my computer. But antivirus says the problem isn't with any of my files, so I'm not confident that would fix anything.
     
  5. starbuck

    starbuck Administrator - Malware Removal Specialist Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,483
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    CPU:
    AMD Athlon II x2 250 Processor 3.00GHz
    Memory:
    8gb DDR3
    Hard Drive:
    500gb SATA
    Graphics Card:
    ASUS GeForce GTX 960 2gb
    Power Supply:
    650w PowerCool X-Viper
    Hi Nivloc

    There's nothing in those shots to suggest what is using the Disc.
    Watching the CPU may help.
    Easiest way to identify what is using the CPU is to use the Task Manager and the Resource Monitor.... you have already looked at Task Manager.
    Right click on the Task Bar and select Start Task Manager:

    1ea2455aa4ad82e468c3f4f0d1a09951.png

    The Processes tab will show you basically what is being used by each process.

    5454bd47d5dce488e0ecc469b66723be.jpg

    If you want more in depth information....
    Click on the Performance tab and then click on Resource Monitor.

    c1dced70936d2e54082086b00737e05c.jpg

    When it opens, click on the CPU tab:

    de42339d008192d438d8d48dfcb7da37.jpg

    The sluggish process/processes should now float to the top of the list.

    CPU tracks the current processor usage in green, much the same as the Task Manager.
    At the top of the graph is a blue line that shows the processor’s maximum speed.

    This should help you to identify what is using the CPU

    If you need more information about the other sections of the Resource Monitor, this should help:

    How to Use Windows Vista's Resource Monitor

    Let us know if you find the culprit.
     
  6. Nivloc

    Nivloc Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    The CPU is fine actually, the problem is the disk. It's at 99% use, and the top program using it is only using 0.1 MB/s
     
  7. Nivloc

    Nivloc Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    upload_2016-8-11_13-8-51.png
    It happened again as I posted that most recent reply.
     
  8. starbuck

    starbuck Administrator - Malware Removal Specialist Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,483
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    CPU:
    AMD Athlon II x2 250 Processor 3.00GHz
    Memory:
    8gb DDR3
    Hard Drive:
    500gb SATA
    Graphics Card:
    ASUS GeForce GTX 960 2gb
    Power Supply:
    650w PowerCool X-Viper
    Then this may well be a problem with the disc it self, as Cindy mentioned.
     
  9. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I agree. Should run CHKDSK repair.
    Looks to me like Windows is having difficulty reading the segments.
     
  10. Nivloc

    Nivloc Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
  11. Bill

    Bill Registered Members

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    601
    Location:
    Southeastern US
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V
    CPU:
    Intel i5 3570
    Memory:
    8GB Kingston DDR3 1600
    Hard Drive:
    Plextor SSD SATA 6 128 GB, WD Velociraptor 150g
    Graphics Card:
    eVGA GTX 550 TI
    Power Supply:
    Antec NeoPower 550w
    Nivloc, your SSD has SMART technology. You could save yourself some time and effort if you download Speccy (free) from Piriform. com.
    Speccy reports on SMART status easily.
     
  12. Nivloc

    Nivloc Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    upload_2016-8-11_13-25-45.png

    SSD seems A-OK

    Speccy corroborates this

    ADATA SP550
    Heads 16
    Cylinders 14,593
    Tracks 3,721,215
    Sectors 234,436,545
    SATA type SATA-III 6.0Gb/s
    Device type Fixed
    ATA Standard ACS2
    Serial Number 2G1320058056
    Firmware Version Number O1015A
    LBA Size 48-bit LBA
    Power On Count 609 times
    Power On Time 2.5 days
    Speed Not used (SSD Drive)
    Features S.M.A.R.T., NCQ, TRIM, SSD
    Max. Transfer Mode SATA III 6.0Gb/s
    Used Transfer Mode SATA III 6.0Gb/s
    Interface SATA
    Capacity 111 GB
    Real size 120,034,123,776 bytes
    RAID Type None
    S.M.A.R.T
    Status Good
    Temperature 22 °C
    Temperature Range OK (less than 50 °C)

    Attribute name Real value Current Worst Threshold Raw Value Status
    01 Read Error Rate 0 100 100 0 0000000000 Good
    05 Reallocated Sectors Count 0 100 100 0 0000000000 Good
    09 Power-On Hours (POH) 2d 11h 100 100 0 000000003B Good
    0C Device Power Cycle Count 609 100 100 0 0000000261 Good
    A0 Uncorrectable Sector Count when Read/Write 0 100 100 0 0000000000 Good
    A1 Number of Valid Spare Block 116 100 100 0 0000000074 Good
    A3 Number of Initial Invalid Block 9 100 100 0 0000000009 Good
    A4 Total Erase Count 2,863 100 100 0 0000000B2F Good
    A5 Maximum Erase Count 20 100 100 0 0000000014 Good
    A6 Minimum Erase Count 0 100 100 0 0000000000 Good
    A7 Average Erase Count 2 100 100 0 0000000002 Good
    AF Program Fail Count (Chip) 0 100 100 0 0000000000 Good
    B0 Erase Fail Count 0 100 100 0 0000000000 Good
    B1 Wear Leveling Count 0 100 100 50 0000000000 Good
    B2 Unexpected Power Loss 0 100 100 0 0000000000 Good
    C0 Power-off Retract Count 6 100 100 0 0000000006 Good
    C2 Temperature 31 °C 100 100 0 000000001F Good
    C3 Hardware ECC Recovered 0 100 100 0 0000000000 Good
    C4 Reallocation Event Count 0 100 100 16 0000000000 Good
    C5 Current Pending Sector Count 0 100 100 0 0000000000 Good
    C6 Uncorrectable Sector Count 0 100 100 0 0000000000 Good
    C7 UltraDMA CRC Error Count 1 100 100 50 0000000001 Good
    E8 Endurance Remaining 100 100 100 0 0000000064 Good
    F1 Total LBAs Written 13,304 100 100 0 00000033F8 Good
    F2 Total LBAs Read 19,839 100 100 0 0000004D7F Good
    Partition 0
    Partition ID Disk #0, Partition #0
    File System NTFS
     
  13. Rustys

    Rustys Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,473
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    Hard Drive:
    Yes
    Graphics Card:
    4 D
    Power Supply:
    Solar
  14. Nivloc

    Nivloc Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Ran chkdsk /r, it required restart so I restarted.
    It hung at 16% complete for a few minutes, then it restarted my computer again, jumped straight to 100% and was done.
     
  15. Nivloc

    Nivloc Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    upload_2016-8-11_13-47-47.png
    When the CPU is used up and the computer freezes, I can still move the mouse, but I can't interact with anything. I can't even bring up task manager until the freeze ends.*
    On the CPU and Disc charts on the left of task manager, you can see the difference between running lots of start up programs, where CPU and Disc use are high but variable, and when the computer freezes, where CPU is maxed out, CPU use drops hard, and there are no programs listed in task manager as using my disc.


    * I access task manager by hitting winkey+x, then t. I haven't tried ctrl-alt-delete, will try that the next time my computer freezes up. If i recall, I can change which window is active and even alt-tab. I just can't do anything. Typing doesn't show up, although it does get buffered and resolved once the freeze ends. Clicking on programs makes them not responsive. I can't do anything until it unfreezes, and then everything is perfectly fine until the next freeze.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Rustys

    Rustys Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,473
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    Hard Drive:
    Yes
    Graphics Card:
    4 D
    Power Supply:
    Solar
    Have you ever attempted to defrag the SSD as it is not recommended under any circumstances.
     
  17. Nivloc

    Nivloc Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Not that I know of. I might have at some point in time. I would never have installed a program to defrag it, but if my computer ever prompted me to do it, I might have. I can't rule it out with certainty.

    But speccy and dskchk report no problems. Wouldn't they find problems if there was a hardware problem caused by defragging?
     
  18. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    The TRIM command, in SSD's invokes a drive’s built-in garbage collection routines (including erasing unused, previously written cells), solved the problem.
    The Trim command sets the SSD segments in the correct order.
    If the SSD has been defragmented, this manually sets the segments in the wrong order, and can take extra time for Windows to find the correct segment.
    This is what I feel is happening in your case.
    The segments are fine, just all set in the wrong order.
     
  19. Nivloc

    Nivloc Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Speccy says my SSD supports TRIM, and the command prompt says TRIM is enabled.

    C:\Windows\system32>fsultil behavior query DisableDeleteNotify
    DisableDeleteNotify = 0


    So, what do I do? Are you saying that when my computer freezes, that is the TRIM function running?

    Also, Microsoft's support blog has a different descripton of TRIM.
    https://blogs.msdn.microsoft.com/e7/2009/05/05/support-and-qa-for-solid-state-drives/
    "In addition to the above, Microsoft and SSD manufacturers are adopting the Trim operation. In Windows 7, if an SSD reports it supports the Trim attribute of the ATA protocol’s Data Set Management command, the NTFS file system will request the ATA driver to issue the new operation to the device when files are deleted and it is safe to erase the SSD pages backing the files. With this information, an SSD can plan to erase the relevant blocks opportunistically (and lazily) in the hope that subsequent writes will not require a blocking erase operation since erased pages are available for reuse.


    As an added benefit, the Trim operation can help SSDs reduce wear by eliminating the need for many merge operations to occur. As an example, consider a single 128 KB SSD block that contained a 128 KB file. If the file is deleted and a Trim operation is requested, then the SSD can avoid having to mix bytes from the SSD block with any other bytes that are subsequently written to that block. This reduces wear.


    Windows 7 requests the Trim operation for more than just file delete operations. The Trim operation is fully integrated with partition- and volume-level commands like Format and Delete, with file system commands relating to truncate and compression, and with the System Restore (aka Volume Snapshot) feature."
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2016
  20. Rustys

    Rustys Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,473
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    Hard Drive:
    Yes
    Graphics Card:
    4 D
    Power Supply:
    Solar
    Have you gone through the event logs?
    To see what errors are happening and or going on when the system spikes?

    Here is how to post the CHKDSK/R we had you run earlier

    Press the Windows Key+X and select Event Viewer.
    Expand the Windows Logs
    Select Application

    4ac004f43234c6cd868fa830f829b360.png

    Look under Source for one called Wininit and click on it.

    5cb28c6b385ae9d358dff75ef34493f3.png

    Look under the General Tab for one that shows Checking file system in ...
    Then select the Details Tab
    How to post the CHKDSK result.
    On the bottom right of the forefront window there is a button that says Copy press that.
    In you next post press CTRL+V which should paste in the results of the chkdsk/r scan you ran.
     

Share This Page