1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

defender

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by Christopher Nelson, Aug 13, 2015.

  1. Christopher Nelson

    Christopher Nelson

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Operating System:
    Windows 8
    OK, I went back to win 8.1 from 10 and now win defender will not turn on. I have tried to re install win security essentials and it will not let me do that saying it is already installed. I can bring up the "important messages" which says to turn defender on but then it will not do it? I am stumped, again
     
  2. starbuck

    starbuck Rest In Peace Pete Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,830
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    CPU:
    AMD Athlon II x2 250 Processor 3.00GHz
    Memory:
    8gb DDR3
    Hard Drive:
    500gb SATA
    Graphics Card:
    ASUS GeForce GTX 960 2gb
    Power Supply:
    650w PowerCool X-Viper
    Hi Christopher and welcome to CHF.

    On Win8, Win8.1 and Win10.... Windows Defender is basically a renamed version of Security Essentials.
    The original Security Essentials will not run on these OS.

    If there any traces of another Anti Virus program installed... the Win Defender option will be grayed out.

    Is there another AV installed? (or any leftovers)

    The ESET AV Remover tool available from:
    http://support.eset.com/kb146/

    This tool will remove almost any antivirus software previously installed on your system.
    There are 2 versions... a 32bit and a 64bit, so you have to select the right version for your OS.

    Let us know if the Win Defender option comes back after running the tool.
     
    allheart55 (Cindy E) likes this.
  3. Christopher Nelson

    Christopher Nelson

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Operating System:
    Windows 8
     
  4. Christopher Nelson

    Christopher Nelson

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Operating System:
    Windows 8
    Thank you sooooooooooo much. It worked!. I had spybot and malware bytes installed and it removed them and all is well. Now, can I re install either of these? All was working before the win 10 experience( spybot, malware bytes and defender were all working)
     
  5. starbuck

    starbuck Rest In Peace Pete Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,830
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    CPU:
    AMD Athlon II x2 250 Processor 3.00GHz
    Memory:
    8gb DDR3
    Hard Drive:
    500gb SATA
    Graphics Card:
    ASUS GeForce GTX 960 2gb
    Power Supply:
    650w PowerCool X-Viper
    Spybot would have caused this as it contains an AV.
    Don't bother reinstalling Spybot...... we stopped recommending this awhile back due to poor test results.
    By all means continue to use Win Defender as your AV on the Win8.1 system..... and yes you can reinstall MalwarewareBytes as this will not conflict.

    I'm glad I could help.

    Safe surfing. 200636f9a90a19cb85ecf0ba93831af6.gif
     
  6. Christopher Nelson

    Christopher Nelson

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Operating System:
    Windows 8
    Thanks again!
     
  7. PracticalJim

    PracticalJim Guest

    Interesting to me also. I am using the windows defender on my Dell XPS machine. I just upgraded to windows10 from a previous windows, and the defender was running automatically. Is this enough protection for my PC? or should I install a different program? or additional program?
     
  8. starbuck

    starbuck Rest In Peace Pete Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,830
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    CPU:
    AMD Athlon II x2 250 Processor 3.00GHz
    Memory:
    8gb DDR3
    Hard Drive:
    500gb SATA
    Graphics Card:
    ASUS GeForce GTX 960 2gb
    Power Supply:
    650w PowerCool X-Viper
    Hi Jim,

    In the absence of another AV program, Win Defender will be turned on automatically.

    It depends on the type of 'surfing' you do.
    On my Win10 'Tower' system I run Win Defender.
    On my Win10 laptop I run Eset Nod32.
    Both have worked well and no malware has been installed on either system.
    Windows Defender is more advanced than it might seem at first glance....... Is it as sophisticated as a dedicated third-party tool? Not quite.
    Is it advanced enough for the everyday user? Definitely.

    Despite the benefits of Windows Defender, it’s important to note that its malware protection is weak compared to the competition.
    If you want something simple and native, it’s perfect.
    If you want something more reliable and with higher security ratings, you’ll want to look at alternative security software.

    I know all this probably sounds confusing..... but like I said, It depends on the type of 'surfing' you do.

    Security always works best when it's 'layered'.
    So yes, if running Win Defender I'd recommend an additional program ( call it a plan B if you want)
    MBAM free version should be adequate .... updated and run once a week.
    A lot of problems now a days is caused by Adware (PuP's ).... Win Defender won't alert you to Adware ( where some 3rd party AV's will)
    So the use of MBAM will detect and remove this Adware.
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2015
  9. PracticalJim

    PracticalJim Guest

    Thank you for the detailed explanation! I think I will stick to the basic Defender, and add on that free version of the MBAM program . I have seen it before on the internet and I remember it being recommended before. So I will take your advice and run that too. Question though, is there any difference between the free version and the paying version? I see on their website that that have a paid version too. Does that keep you any safer? Is so what's the difference?

    Again thank you for the time you are giving me I really appreciate advice!
     
  10. starbuck

    starbuck Rest In Peace Pete Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,830
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    CPU:
    AMD Athlon II x2 250 Processor 3.00GHz
    Memory:
    8gb DDR3
    Hard Drive:
    500gb SATA
    Graphics Card:
    ASUS GeForce GTX 960 2gb
    Power Supply:
    650w PowerCool X-Viper
    Basically they are the same..... the same program is installed whether you want the free version or the paid for version.
    On the final install page....
    A 14 day trial of the Premium features is pre-selected. You may deselect this if you wish, and it will not diminish the scanning and removal capabilities of the program
    Unticking this will give you the free version.
    The paid for version will give you 'realtime' scanning... schedule scanning and automatic updates.
    The free version.... will have to be run manually and updated manually.
    But both versions will remove what ever is found.
    I personally am not a huge fan of the paid version..... we have had problems with it in the past. ( but that's just my personal view )
    I always recommend just running the free version.

    Hope that makes things a bit clearer.
     
  11. PracticalJim

    PracticalJim Guest

    Yes that totally answered my question. I will stick with the free version, at least for now. Looks like it will remove all the same things the paid one will other than like you say - the paid one runs in real time. Thanks again! I am set thanks to you.
     
  12. Rich M

    Rich M Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4,580
    Location:
    NE Pa USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K 4.0Ghz
    Memory:
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133
    Hard Drive:
    Crucial 256 Gb SSD+ WD Raptor 300 Gb Sata III
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R9 280 2GB HDMI
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 750 watt
    Oh I totally disagree because the paid version gives you the advantage of keeping the Malware out "at the gate" rather than letting it in and ripping it out at a later date. And the paid version keeps you away from "troubled sites" though there are other ways to do that such as WOT which is free and or safe surfing habits.
     
  13. starbuck

    starbuck Rest In Peace Pete Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,830
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    CPU:
    AMD Athlon II x2 250 Processor 3.00GHz
    Memory:
    8gb DDR3
    Hard Drive:
    500gb SATA
    Graphics Card:
    ASUS GeForce GTX 960 2gb
    Power Supply:
    650w PowerCool X-Viper
    This is one of the reasons I suggest not to use the premium version.
    There's a lot of complaints about MBAM being over aggressive with website blocking.
    Even blocking 'Skype' as it deems it a P2P program.
    Ok you can alter the settings, but it does cause some users problems.
    Ask bob12a ...... he had a lot of problems on his system... we replaced his premium version with the free version and the problems went away.
     
  14. Rich M

    Rich M Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4,580
    Location:
    NE Pa USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K 4.0Ghz
    Memory:
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133
    Hard Drive:
    Crucial 256 Gb SSD+ WD Raptor 300 Gb Sata III
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R9 280 2GB HDMI
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 750 watt
    You know Pete I have been an Mbam reseller for years until my move to Emsisoft and I never remember Mbam preventing me from going to any sites in error even though many others have reported these problems. In my experience, Mbam was always the last of all the possible resources to block a given website anyway. Wot always went first as did Nod32 and Mbam would only show up if no decent Antivirus (most of them) were not present.
     
  15. starbuck

    starbuck Rest In Peace Pete Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,830
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    CPU:
    AMD Athlon II x2 250 Processor 3.00GHz
    Memory:
    8gb DDR3
    Hard Drive:
    500gb SATA
    Graphics Card:
    ASUS GeForce GTX 960 2gb
    Power Supply:
    650w PowerCool X-Viper
    IceMan37 likes this.
  16. IceMan37

    IceMan37 Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,079
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z87M-G43
    CPU:
    I5 4690k @ 4.6
    Memory:
    16GB Hyper X 1866
    Hard Drive:
    1TB WD_Blue | 240Gb Sandosk SSD
    Graphics Card:
    eVGA GTX 970 FTW
    Power Supply:
    750W Tt
    Rich - quick question here. Do you think that some software you are running might be blocking the installation of Paltalk on your Windows 8.1 Sony VAIO laptop when you had Windows 10 installed on it?
     
  17. Rich M

    Rich M Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4,580
    Location:
    NE Pa USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K 4.0Ghz
    Memory:
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133
    Hard Drive:
    Crucial 256 Gb SSD+ WD Raptor 300 Gb Sata III
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R9 280 2GB HDMI
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 750 watt
    Of course it is possible but it installed on the Sony, just didn't run right and on the Dell sure it could have been some software as I know Emsisoft had to be shutdown on the Laptop to get it to work but I tried that on the Dell as well. I would bet it is some software though I can't think of any different software on the Sony from the Dell other than drivers of course as I always install all the same programs on everything.
     
  18. PracticalJim

    PracticalJim Guest

    So far I have not had any issues. I would like to possibly invest in a good more full anti-virus you never know what you might encounter on the internet. This Emsisoft is something you would highly recommend? I noticed while browsing there are a few members here using it so it might be pretty good.
     
  19. Rich M

    Rich M Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4,580
    Location:
    NE Pa USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K 4.0Ghz
    Memory:
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133
    Hard Drive:
    Crucial 256 Gb SSD+ WD Raptor 300 Gb Sata III
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R9 280 2GB HDMI
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 750 watt
    I would highly recommend it. It is the only Antivirus, AntiMalware that works and frankly is all you need to keep the system clean.

    In all fairness what Starbuck uses has nothing to do with what you do because he is a highly trained professional
    Malware remover who I believe, could use nothing and still remain clean where you wouldn't last more than an hour
    without infection if you used nothing. I personally believe that WD is about as useless as Mse was, maybe more so. In tests with a few other professionals about 6 months ago, my group became hopelessly infected with only WD onboard
    actively deliberately going into Malware laden sites. Reloaded with Malwarebytes Pro and Nod32 Antivirus loaded I skated right through with only a few infections spotted and easily handled. Retried the same experience with Emsisoft and again no infections got through it.
     
  20. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I think we should listen to Starbuck what his recommendations are.
    Saying with no AV you wouldn't last more than one hour is conjecture,Rich.
    That depends on one's surfing habits.Whatever AV you choose including MBAM free is a must.
    MBAM free is top dog in finding PUP's on one's system.
    W.O.T. and the program "Unckecky" are in my tool kit as well.
     
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2015
: defender, win 801

Share This Page