1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

CPU stuck at 0.52ghz

Discussion in 'Processor - CPU' started by Stephen brader, Mar 25, 2016.

  1. Stephen brader

    Stephen brader

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    My Toshiba encore WT8-A-102 is stuck at 0.52ghz and under any load will not go any higher. I have tried reinstalling windows 10 but to no avail. I believe the issue has been caused by using throttlestop 8 beta software and now my CPU is stuck at 0.52ghz
     
  2. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Hi Stephen. Welcome to Computer Help Forums.
    My guess you have been overclocking and let's hope you haven't overheated the CPU.
    I would uninstall throttlestop 8 Beta software and reset your BIOS to default.
    Not advisable to use any software that's still in Beta.
     
  3. Stephen brader

    Stephen brader

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    I didn't overclock and there's no CPU settings in my BIOS and I tried resetting the BIOS but didn't work and I have even tried reinstalling windows 10 and still had same issue
     
  4. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Better read up on Throttlestop. It is used to overclock your CPU changing multiplier settings amongst other optimizing abilities.
    I read on three sites this program has done irreversible damage to their CPU's.
    I personally have never come across a Bios that you couldn't alter default settings.
     
  5. Rich M

    Rich M Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4,580
    Location:
    NE Pa USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K 4.0Ghz
    Memory:
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133
    Hard Drive:
    Crucial 256 Gb SSD+ WD Raptor 300 Gb Sata III
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R9 280 2GB HDMI
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 750 watt
    See if there is a bios update at mfgr site (flash) is about your only hope. I see this is a tablet which makes things even more difficult.
    I would bet the only way to reset the bios is to send it back to Toshiba for bios replacement and not knowing what you paid for this,
    it could be very pricey to do. Same is true for cpu because it is welded to the board. My best suggestion is to call Toshiba for advice as
    it sounds like this tablet is bricked and there aren't many things you can do on the board yourself.
     
  6. Amd_Man

    Amd_Man Registered Members

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    598
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Asus M5A97
    CPU:
    Phenon II X4 955
    Memory:
    8 Gigs G. Skill Rip Jaws
    Hard Drive:
    120 Gig Kingston SSD, 640 Gig Western Digital Black Edition
    Graphics Card:
    Power Color HD5770
    Power Supply:
    Corsair TX750
    There would be no settings as it's a Toshiba. Uninstall throttlestop 8 and then go into Pc Settings/System/Power and sleep/Additional power settings and change to high performance. That should make the CPU run proper but will use more power. I use balanced myself and the CPU will go up when there's demand on it.
     
  7. IceMan37

    IceMan37 Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,079
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z87M-G43
    CPU:
    I5 4690k @ 4.6
    Memory:
    16GB Hyper X 1866
    Hard Drive:
    1TB WD_Blue | 240Gb Sandosk SSD
    Graphics Card:
    eVGA GTX 970 FTW
    Power Supply:
    750W Tt
    My advice would be to do what AMD-Man says uninstall that throttlestop, and then set power setting to full power, however do not leave it there you never want a laptop to run that way permanently just run it that way for a few hours and make sure your CPU speed is what it should be then set it to balanced.
     
  8. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
  9. Amd_Man

    Amd_Man Registered Members

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    598
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Asus M5A97
    CPU:
    Phenon II X4 955
    Memory:
    8 Gigs G. Skill Rip Jaws
    Hard Drive:
    120 Gig Kingston SSD, 640 Gig Western Digital Black Edition
    Graphics Card:
    Power Color HD5770
    Power Supply:
    Corsair TX750
    I bet that program installed is the problem. That CPU runs between 1.33-1.86 Ghz.
     
  10. Rich M

    Rich M Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4,580
    Location:
    NE Pa USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K 4.0Ghz
    Memory:
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133
    Hard Drive:
    Crucial 256 Gb SSD+ WD Raptor 300 Gb Sata III
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R9 280 2GB HDMI
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 750 watt
    I agree with what you all are saying but cannot help but wonder if the software didn't already damage the cpu so I am quietly listening.
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2016
  11. IceMan37

    IceMan37 Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,079
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z87M-G43
    CPU:
    I5 4690k @ 4.6
    Memory:
    16GB Hyper X 1866
    Hard Drive:
    1TB WD_Blue | 240Gb Sandosk SSD
    Graphics Card:
    eVGA GTX 970 FTW
    Power Supply:
    750W Tt
    That is a possibility though unlikely since the CPU is apparently downclocked. I would like to see and update with this issue as well. Hopefully it is ok after removing the software per AMD-Man's recommendation.
     
    Amd_Man likes this.
  12. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I am thinking the same,Rich. May have suffered permanent damage.
    Looks like the Toshiba Forum don't have an answer. Had 41 views.
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2016
  13. IceMan37

    IceMan37 Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,079
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z87M-G43
    CPU:
    I5 4690k @ 4.6
    Memory:
    16GB Hyper X 1866
    Hard Drive:
    1TB WD_Blue | 240Gb Sandosk SSD
    Graphics Card:
    eVGA GTX 970 FTW
    Power Supply:
    750W Tt
    I hope to see the OP again soon and I do HOPE that the above scenario did not play out (processor damage).
     

Share This Page