1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

[Solved] Corrupted system files on win 8.1

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by daveleonard, Aug 29, 2015.

  1. daveleonard

    daveleonard Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Messages:
    416
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Acer Aspire
    CPU:
    See below
    Memory:
    Ditto
    Hard Drive:
    Ditto
    Graphics Card:
    Ditto
    Power Supply:
    Ditto
    Hello folks. Apparently I have some corrupted system files I found when I ran the sfc scan from the command prompt. I was trying to find out just why Windows Defender would no longer work. I uninstalled every possible anti virus app I could find on my pc and when that did not work I thought maybe I had some corrupted system files preventing Defender from working. I found that yes I did have some corrupted sys files but now I do not know how to repair/replace those files that are corrupted nor do I know what files they are. I will attach the scan results. Is there a way to easily accomplish this without a lot of complications?
    Thanks and greetings from the Philippines. Dave
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Rich M

    Rich M Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4,580
    Location:
    NE Pa USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K 4.0Ghz
    Memory:
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133
    Hard Drive:
    Crucial 256 Gb SSD+ WD Raptor 300 Gb Sata III
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R9 280 2GB HDMI
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 750 watt
  3. daveleonard

    daveleonard Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Messages:
    416
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Acer Aspire
    CPU:
    See below
    Memory:
    Ditto
    Hard Drive:
    Ditto
    Graphics Card:
    Ditto
    Power Supply:
    Ditto
    I went to that site Rich but it turns out to be for Win 7 only. They also said you can only use repair install with the installation disk for the same edition that you are using.
    My problem is I have 8.1 and my installation disk is for 8.0 so I don't think that will work for me. I got 8.1 by updates.
    Thanks, Dave
     
  4. Rich M

    Rich M Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4,580
    Location:
    NE Pa USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K 4.0Ghz
    Memory:
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133
    Hard Drive:
    Crucial 256 Gb SSD+ WD Raptor 300 Gb Sata III
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R9 280 2GB HDMI
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 750 watt
  5. daveleonard

    daveleonard Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Messages:
    416
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Acer Aspire
    CPU:
    See below
    Memory:
    Ditto
    Hard Drive:
    Ditto
    Graphics Card:
    Ditto
    Power Supply:
    Ditto
    No problem Rich. Unfortunately I may be in a bad situation. Let me explain my downloading restrictions. I have very little band width using the cell phone tower. No broadband. It took three days and three nights constant downloading just to get 8.1 through updates. I tried to download using the ISO route and saving to my thumb drive but after two days of downloading I got the error "unable to download", so I lost everything. I was just lucky to get 8.1 via updates.
    Is there any way I can replace just the sys files that are corrupted without downloading the entire ISO? I would love to have a thumb drive with it there for future use but unless I can figure a way to increase my download speed, I think I'm sunk.
    Thanks, Dave
     
  6. Rich M

    Rich M Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4,580
    Location:
    NE Pa USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K 4.0Ghz
    Memory:
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133
    Hard Drive:
    Crucial 256 Gb SSD+ WD Raptor 300 Gb Sata III
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R9 280 2GB HDMI
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 750 watt
    The only thing I can think of wold be buy a dvd on eBay but you have to be really careful as they do police it but there are still bogus dvds that get listed from time to time.
    Read client feedback for every posting is the only way to be sure. If yours is a "branded" computer you need to buy an "oem" version. The safest way to be sure you have that is buy a Dell dvd with a code as that has to be oem.
     
  7. daveleonard

    daveleonard Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Messages:
    416
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Acer Aspire
    CPU:
    See below
    Memory:
    Ditto
    Hard Drive:
    Ditto
    Graphics Card:
    Ditto
    Power Supply:
    Ditto
    Thanks but that's not an option I can do from where I am. I will have to reinstall a virus protection app as I do not have any protection at this point.
    Have a great day, Dave
     
  8. bringIT

    bringIT Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    57
    Operating System:
    Windows 8
    You can try go to windows update and view installed updates. Uninstall update KB3000850 and reinstall it. From your log it looks like the corrupt files belong to this update. Here is the download https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/3000850. The link for the download is at the bottom of the page.
     
  9. daveleonard

    daveleonard Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Messages:
    416
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Acer Aspire
    CPU:
    See below
    Memory:
    Ditto
    Hard Drive:
    Ditto
    Graphics Card:
    Ditto
    Power Supply:
    Ditto
    I could not find the update in installed updates. Since I updated to 8.1 from 8.0, it is probably in that upgrade. I could not download the update from microsoft as I kept getting the error "unknown network error." So then I tried to download the ms Media Creation Tool and save to my usb flash drive. It took four days and nights but I was finally able to get it. But then I found out you cannot boot your pc from media usb unless you previously had 8.1 on your pc to begin with. I originally had 8.0 so the usb download does me no good. the only thing I can think of doing is to boot in 8.0 and then upgrade again to 8.1. That will take a long long time.
    All I want to do is be able to boot my 8.1 from either usb or a cd. There are times that things happen and a reboot is necessary as in my case now with corrupted windows files.
    Thanks
     
  10. daveleonard

    daveleonard Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Messages:
    416
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Acer Aspire
    CPU:
    See below
    Memory:
    Ditto
    Hard Drive:
    Ditto
    Graphics Card:
    Ditto
    Power Supply:
    Ditto
    T
    that particular update, KB 3000850, is a massive file of 400mgs. That is probably why I cannot download it via the slow connections I have.
     
  11. Rich M

    Rich M Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4,580
    Location:
    NE Pa USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K 4.0Ghz
    Memory:
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133
    Hard Drive:
    Crucial 256 Gb SSD+ WD Raptor 300 Gb Sata III
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R9 280 2GB HDMI
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 750 watt
    Why doesn't some gov't agency do something about your broadband performance I mean that is not a primitive area?
     
  12. daveleonard

    daveleonard Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Messages:
    416
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Acer Aspire
    CPU:
    See below
    Memory:
    Ditto
    Hard Drive:
    Ditto
    Graphics Card:
    Ditto
    Power Supply:
    Ditto
    Ya well, this is the Philippines. Corruption is everywhere. It is frustrating for a western alien but we get used to it and just try to work around it. I just recently downloaded AVG virus protection because I am not protected as Win Defender won't run. But I can't even get AVG to update. Its been running two hours now.
    Anyway, to get back to the win sys files, I let downloads run for four days and nights and finally completed the win media creation tool for 8.1. I have not tried it yet because I heard that I cannot use it unless I had 8.1 original to begin with. Since I updated to 8.1 from 8.0 via win updates, I wanted to get some advice as to whether or not I should try it.
    Thanks, Dave
     
  13. Rich M

    Rich M Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4,580
    Location:
    NE Pa USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K 4.0Ghz
    Memory:
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133
    Hard Drive:
    Crucial 256 Gb SSD+ WD Raptor 300 Gb Sata III
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R9 280 2GB HDMI
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 750 watt
    Dave everyone will probably give you a different answer but I am going to say don't rush into it as there are many problems out there that need to get solved first and you have almost a year to do this.
     
  14. daveleonard

    daveleonard Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Messages:
    416
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Acer Aspire
    CPU:
    See below
    Memory:
    Ditto
    Hard Drive:
    Ditto
    Graphics Card:
    Ditto
    Power Supply:
    Ditto
    Yes Rich, you are right. There is a rumour that in three months broad band may come to my area.
    I finally did get the update KB3000850 downloaded. True to form there is a problem. When I tried to run it I got the error "the data is invalid". Just can't win! I did find this update in "installed updates" so I know at least it did download via win updates originally. Will Windows eventually replace that update over time? Will they realize through some feed back that the win sys files are corrupted?
    Thanks, Dave
     
  15. Rich M

    Rich M Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4,580
    Location:
    NE Pa USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K 4.0Ghz
    Memory:
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133
    Hard Drive:
    Crucial 256 Gb SSD+ WD Raptor 300 Gb Sata III
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R9 280 2GB HDMI
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 750 watt
    Sometimes that means something else was needed to be downloaded before that update but if it is just the update itself is corrupted I imagine it will be fixed. Who knows but that poor internet connection you have didn't mess it up also so you will wind up waiting and hopefully that whole situation will be improved as you heard.
     
  16. daveleonard

    daveleonard Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Messages:
    416
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Acer Aspire
    CPU:
    See below
    Memory:
    Ditto
    Hard Drive:
    Ditto
    Graphics Card:
    Ditto
    Power Supply:
    Ditto
    FYI. I found the solution at www.tweaking.com. I ran that at the command prompt and it evidently reset all my windows files. At least when I run sfc scan there are no problems noted. Thanks Dave.
     
  17. Rich M

    Rich M Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4,580
    Location:
    NE Pa USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K 4.0Ghz
    Memory:
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133
    Hard Drive:
    Crucial 256 Gb SSD+ WD Raptor 300 Gb Sata III
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R9 280 2GB HDMI
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 750 watt
    Hey persistence pays off good job.
     

Share This Page