1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

Computer Driver Wiped..problem

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by wiserthannormal, Jul 18, 2012.

  1. wiserthannormal

    wiserthannormal

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    here
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista Enterprise
    Today i decided to completely wipe my computer of all files and programs, everything. I removed everything the proper way so i know that there is not an issue in the way i did it. So after that i get Windows vista re-installed and my computer back up and running as if it was the first time starting up the computer. Now I'm up to the point where i am installing all of my Microsoft office programs (word, excel, etc.) And it should all be on this CD i had received from my college. The disc is titled Microsoft Office professional plus 2010. But here is where the problem arises. When i try to setup it tells me:

    Setup is unable to proceed due to the following errors:
    To install and use this product, you must be running one of the following operating systems:

    x86 platform
    -windows 7
    -windows vista SP1
    -Windows XP SP3
    -Windows server 2003 SP2

    x64 platform
    -Windows 7
    -Windows vista SP1
    -Windows server 2008

    It also tells my that i need more that 100MB on my C: drive in order to install and somehow i don't. this make no sense to me because i have only install maybe four programs? before i wiped my computer i had WAY more space than that? Where did all my space go and how do i fix this and the other problem with the operating systems? HELP PLEASE
     
  2. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Hi wiserthannormal. Welcome to Computer Help Forums.
    I like your sense of humor (username)
    Have you installed the Service Pak1 and all windows updates?

    Please post a screen shot of Disk Management. Thanks.
     
  3. PseFrank

    PseFrank Registered Members

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    962
    Location:
    Cambridge UK
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    DSTM is away at the moment, but hopefully will be back with us soon. In the meantime if you have any problems posting a screen grab as asked, try this...

    Go...Start > Computer, right click on Local disk (C:) and select Properties.

    Under the General tab you will see Used space and Free space. Can you please tell us what those figures are.

    The screen grab of Disk Management will still be needed though, so if you can post that, it would be good.
     
  4. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,266
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    You won't be able to install Office until you have installed SP1 for Vista. You can download it at the link below.
    http://support.micro...935791#Download

    Don't forget to post a screenshot of disk management as requested above.....
     
  5. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7

    Further to Allheart's post;

    Are you sure you haven't installed Vista on the recovery partition by mistake?.That would explain no space left.
     
  6. KenB

    KenB Registered Members

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,223
    Location:
    Wirral UK
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista Home Premium
    I've met normal - he isn't very bright :)
     

Share This Page