1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

Clear my old PC

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Tony Loly, Nov 8, 2019.

  1. Tony Loly

    Tony Loly Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    255
    Location:
    Solihull, West Midlands
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I have a HP all in one PC running windows 7 that I want to sell on ebay.
    What do I need to clear all my old data from it ?
     
  2. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,298
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    1) Create a new user administrator account via Control Panel/Users
    2) Log into the newly created account.
    3) Delete the old account via Control Pahel/Users. Let it delete the old files, not keep them.

    That doesn't securely delete the files, but the casual user will not be able to get to them. There are utilities to securely erase deleted files. I'm not at my computer that has that information.

    Do you want to erase the entire drive, including the operating system and applications? That's a different path,
     
  3. Seth Anthony

    Seth Anthony Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    946
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Altaire 8800
    CPU:
    Modified Texas Instruments calculator
    Memory:
    2 transistor tubes
    Hard Drive:
    pen and paper
    Graphics Card:
    TV ready
    Power Supply:
    Mouse on a wheel
    It will be an easier sell and you'll get more money if you install W10 on it, then advertise it as "new install of Windows 10". People will usually want the latest version of Windows, plus W7 ends support in January and a lot of people know that.
     
  4. Tony Loly

    Tony Loly Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    255
    Location:
    Solihull, West Midlands
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Thanks Tony. Have created a new account but I cannot delete the old one unless I am logged in on the new one apparently.
    Could you talk me through how to get logged in on just the new account please?
     
  5. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,298
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Click on the orb in the corner.
    In the area where you usually click to shut down or restart, click on Log off instead of shut down or restart.
    You will get logged out of your account.
    You should be presented with a screen where you can select which account to log into.
    Log into your newly created account.

    Once in the new account, you can go back to the Control Panel/Users and delete the old account.
     
  6. Tony Loly

    Tony Loly Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    255
    Location:
    Solihull, West Midlands
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Thanks Tony, most helpful. Think I have managed to delete the old account, however when I click on the corner orb & go to " All programs " they are all still there??
     
  7. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,298
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    What are still there?

    Your files should have been deleted, but not the programs. If you want to delete the programs, you have to go to Control Panel/Programs and Features to remove programs.
     
  8. Tony Loly

    Tony Loly Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    255
    Location:
    Solihull, West Midlands
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Really don't know where I am going wrong. For instance the image viewer I used is still listed & has all my photos still available to view?
     
  9. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,298
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Oh my. Maybe the image viewer put thumb nails in some folder that the image viewer uses. What image viewer are you referring to?

    Oh, and can you still see any other documents from your original account?
     
  10. Tony Loly

    Tony Loly Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    255
    Location:
    Solihull, West Midlands
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    It was " Faststone image viewer " have now uninstalled it & hence the pics have gone. If I click on documents, pictures, downloads etc all say empty so I suppose that is good, perhaps I should uninstall other programs?
     
  11. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,298
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    If you have Microsoft Office, you might want to remove that. Only because it has your name and product license attached to it.

    Don't forget to empty the Recycle Bin.
    Do keep in mind, that those files that have been deleted can probably be recovered by someone who has the proper software and know-how.
     
    allheart55 (Cindy E) likes this.
  12. Tony Loly

    Tony Loly Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    255
    Location:
    Solihull, West Midlands
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Thanks but now you have me worried again...………….should I wipe it totally as you originally suggested, if so how?
     
  13. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,298
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
  14. Tony Loly

    Tony Loly Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    255
    Location:
    Solihull, West Midlands
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Thanks Tony. I have downloaded Eraser but it seems very complicated to use. I thought it would be a case of " click here to erase ".
    Have you any experience of actually using it?
    Thanks.
     
  15. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,298
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Where are you hanging up?

    The old version is pretty straight forward. I haven't used the new version.

    Maybe later on I'll download the new version and give it a spin.
     
  16. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,298
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    OK, I see what you mean.

    Start Eraser.
    Click on the drop down menu at the top left: Erase Schedule.
    Select New Task.
    Put a bullet in Run manually.
    Click on Add Data at the bottom left.
    In the Target type menu, select Unused disk space.
    Erasure method can be left at Default
    Ensure Erase cluster tips is checked.
    Click OK to close out the Select Data to Erase window.
    Click OK to close out the Task Properties window.

    In the Erase Schedule, you should see at task labeled Unused disk space (C:\).
    Right click on it and select Run Now,

    The task to erase empty space should commence.
     
  17. Rustys

    Rustys Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,533
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    Hard Drive:
    Yes
    Graphics Card:
    4 D
    Power Supply:
    Solar
    If I may but in...

    Have you created the restore disk for that computer?

    Why not just use them to preform a factory restore to the system?

    Or just do like Seth Anthony stated and put Windows 10 on it? After you have followed the erase instructions by Tony
     
    Tony D likes this.
  18. Seth Anthony

    Seth Anthony Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    946
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Altaire 8800
    CPU:
    Modified Texas Instruments calculator
    Memory:
    2 transistor tubes
    Hard Drive:
    pen and paper
    Graphics Card:
    TV ready
    Power Supply:
    Mouse on a wheel
    There wouldn't have been any need to erase anything, as the new install of W10 would have done that automatically.

    With all this trouble that Tony Loly is going through, he could have had W10 installed and the computer sold by now ;)
     
  19. Seth Anthony

    Seth Anthony Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    946
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Altaire 8800
    CPU:
    Modified Texas Instruments calculator
    Memory:
    2 transistor tubes
    Hard Drive:
    pen and paper
    Graphics Card:
    TV ready
    Power Supply:
    Mouse on a wheel
    I guess if you really want W7 on it, you can just tap F11 at boot to restore it to factory condition.
     
  20. Tony Loly

    Tony Loly Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    255
    Location:
    Solihull, West Midlands
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Thanks for the very precise & clear instructions Tony.It has been running for an hour now already, don't suppose you know how long it takes? Not sure why I am erasing " unused disc space " thought it would be the used bit I wanted removed ?
     

Share This Page