1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.

Classic Shell

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by BGBG, Feb 7, 2018.

  1. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,045
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Do I need Classic Shell on Windows 10 or should it be removed? I get popups wanting to update or configure Classic Shell. I think it was installed on 1-19-2016. I allowed it it configure itself.
     
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2018
  2. starbuck

    starbuck Administrator - Malware Removal Specialist Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,325
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    CPU:
    AMD Athlon II x2 250 Processor 3.00GHz
    Memory:
    8gb DDR3
    Hard Drive:
    500gb SATA
    Graphics Card:
    ASUS GeForce GTX 960 2gb
    Power Supply:
    650w PowerCool X-Viper
    Personally I can't see why anyone would want 'Classic Shell' on a Win 10 system.
    Just remove it... Win 10 is easy enough to navigate.
     
    Tony D likes this.
  3. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,045
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    This was a new computer I got for my wife and since she seemed to be OK with using it I failed to remove all the stuff that came on it. I guess this was one of them. If not needed I shall remove it.
     
  4. plodr

    plodr CHF Advisor CHF Advisers

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Messages:
    203
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    allheart55 (Cindy E) likes this.
  5. tecknomage

    tecknomage Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    113
    Location:
    San Diego, CA USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4690 CPU @ 3.50GHz
    Memory:
    8gb
    Hard Drive:
    4tb
    Graphics Card:
    NVIDIA Corporation GK104 [GeForce GTX 770] 1990mb memory
    Power Supply:
    750w
    I use Classic Shell because I hate the Win7 Pro shell.

    I use a tree-menu and an almost empty desktop.

    Screenshots:
    MyDesktop-201802.jpg MyMenu-201802.jpg
     
  6. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,183
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7

Share This Page