1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.

CDR101 Error message

Discussion in 'Microsoft Windows' started by Lschaser, Apr 11, 2006.

  1. Lschaser

    Lschaser Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    I just installed a new HD. Did the whole Fdisk, Reboot, Format process with a 98 start up disk. Now when I try to find my CDROM drive whic tells me that my Ramdrive is D:, so I assume my CDROM drive is E: or X:. I tried to enter the Setup.exe and it keeps giving me a CDR101 error and that E: is not ready to read. Does this mean that my CDROM drive is shot or an I not entering the right command or is the 98 start up disk drivers not complatible with my (DVD-ROM)????
     
  2. Lschaser

    Lschaser Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    forgot to add that I have a Samsung DVD-ROM SD-6 and the HDD that I just installed is a WD80. If someone can please tell me how to get to the "setup" and get my system to recognize my CDROM I would appreciate it!!
     
  3. phreakwars

    phreakwars Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Messages:
    192
    It might just have a dirty lens, a simple fix would be to put the CD-Rom drive into a working machine and run a lens cleaner on it. Or another thing is, your boot disk might not have the correct CD-Rom drivers on it. A CDR101 error is a hardware error, not software.

    Are you using an original Windows 98 Boot disk ?? Have you tried an alternative boot disk like one from: http://www.bootdisk.com/bootdisk.htm

    Honestly when ever I have the pleasure of doing a RARE Windows 98 OS install I have a different approach...

    I'll format the drive with a FAT32 partition on another machine in Windows, only takes a few minutes... then I copy the contents of the Windows 98 CD Rom folder "WIN98" onto the fresh drive, I then boot with a regular boot disk, no CD drivers needed, and go to the C: drive under the WIN98 folder, and initiate the setup process from there instead.

    The install goes MUCH MUCH faster and if you need to add or remove windows components you never need the CD-Rom in the drive, the PC will go to the C: drive setup files... you can do this with MULTIPLE drives too and put the setup files on a backup drive instead... You DO NOT have to have a CD-Rom drive to install Windows !!
    .
    .
     
  4. Lschaser

    Lschaser Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Thank you so much for replaying. I did find out that the old DVDROM was bad. The new just came and I tried to re-step everything and when I choose option to have CDROM SUpport, I put the XP OS and then in Dos open the E:/setup.exe and it says its a bad command or file name. The drive is spinning this time. Now I dont know which command to use.???
     
  5. Lschaser

    Lschaser Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    I aso just tried using my XP Home Edition installation CD and it said that "this program can not run on Dos Mode"

    Heeeeelp!!!!!! :(
     

Share This Page