1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.

Cant play any games :s

Discussion in 'Specific Hardware Issues' started by Callum O'Hare, Jan 9, 2016.

  1. Callum O'Hare

    Callum O'Hare

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Canada
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    AMD
    Memory:
    16GB DDR3
    Hard Drive:
    5TB
    Graphics Card:
    GTX 780
    Power Supply:
    750W
    Hey!

    So, my computer keeps shutting itself off 5 minutes after i start any game. Any ideas? It's done this for the past, like, year.

    So far i've formatted it, bought a new graphics card, a new power supply, and a new hard drive. Still does it and i cant really keep buying stuff till i find the problem... Any ideas?

    Specs:
    Windows 10 Pro 64Bit
    AMD-FX-8350 Eight-Core Processor 4.00GHz
    16GB RAM
    GTX 780 (Drivers are up to date)
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2016
  2. Bill

    Bill Registered Members

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    601
    Location:
    Southeastern US
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V
    CPU:
    Intel i5 3570
    Memory:
    8GB Kingston DDR3 1600
    Hard Drive:
    Plextor SSD SATA 6 128 GB, WD Velociraptor 150g
    Graphics Card:
    eVGA GTX 550 TI
    Power Supply:
    Antec NeoPower 550w
  3. Callum O'Hare

    Callum O'Hare

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Canada
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    AMD
    Memory:
    16GB DDR3
    Hard Drive:
    5TB
    Graphics Card:
    GTX 780
    Power Supply:
    750W
    Hey! Sorry for the late reply haha

    Alright so just started it.
    Current temps-

    CPU - 56 C
    Motherboard- 30 C
    Graphics - 26 C

    Ill go start a game for 10 minutes and post again. Thanks a ton!

    EDIT: So, without starting a game i just kind of watched as the CPU temperature raised to 80 degrees Celcius (176F) and the computer shut off.
    Guess i've found my problem, eh?

    Uhhh any ideas on what would be up or how to fix this, then? Definitely cant afford a new one right this second... Gonna go get some thermal paste tomorrow since mine seems to have disappeared. Hopefully that'll help :)
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2016
  4. Bill

    Bill Registered Members

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    601
    Location:
    Southeastern US
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V
    CPU:
    Intel i5 3570
    Memory:
    8GB Kingston DDR3 1600
    Hard Drive:
    Plextor SSD SATA 6 128 GB, WD Velociraptor 150g
    Graphics Card:
    eVGA GTX 550 TI
    Power Supply:
    Antec NeoPower 550w
    Did you check the fan on the CPU?
     
  5. Callum O'Hare

    Callum O'Hare

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Canada
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    AMD
    Memory:
    16GB DDR3
    Hard Drive:
    5TB
    Graphics Card:
    GTX 780
    Power Supply:
    750W
    Yeah. Fan's working fine.
    Put new thermal paste on it today, still climbed up to 80 degress and shut off :(

    No clue what to do at this point.
     
  6. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,232
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Hi Callum.
    Is this PC overclocked or have you ever attempted to overclock?
    If the processor has been installed properly and no gaps, fan working correctly,heatsink paste applied then the only thing to me is someone has played around with the voltages in the Bios which can cause serious overheating if not set correctly.
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2016
    Callum O'Hare likes this.
  7. Callum O'Hare

    Callum O'Hare

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Canada
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    AMD
    Memory:
    16GB DDR3
    Hard Drive:
    5TB
    Graphics Card:
    GTX 780
    Power Supply:
    750W
    Hmmmm...
    I sort of remember when I first got it trying to overclock with some program (not in the bios) but I didn't know what I was doing in the slightest.

    Any idea how to set it back to default if that's the issue?
    Sorry for asking so many questions aha
     
  8. Bill

    Bill Registered Members

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    601
    Location:
    Southeastern US
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V
    CPU:
    Intel i5 3570
    Memory:
    8GB Kingston DDR3 1600
    Hard Drive:
    Plextor SSD SATA 6 128 GB, WD Velociraptor 150g
    Graphics Card:
    eVGA GTX 550 TI
    Power Supply:
    Antec NeoPower 550w
    There should be an option to restore default settings in the BIOs
     
  9. Callum O'Hare

    Callum O'Hare

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Canada
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    AMD
    Memory:
    16GB DDR3
    Hard Drive:
    5TB
    Graphics Card:
    GTX 780
    Power Supply:
    750W
    Sweet alright!
    I'll try that when I get home :D
    Thanks a ton man!
     
  10. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,232
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    You may have used AMD Overdrive of similar software.
    I think we are getting to the problem.
    Uninstall the software if you still have it.
    Boot into your Bios and it will have an option to reset the bios to default.
    When you find the option click yes/save and exit or similar wording.
    You can't run games without a cooler. They are a must. Not expensive.
    Maybe a Hyper 212 or one like it.
    If this cpu has been running hot for a long time let's hope it's still OK.

    Let us know how you go.

    EDIT. Thanks Bill. I was preparing my reply post and didn't see your reply.
     
  11. Callum O'Hare

    Callum O'Hare

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Canada
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    AMD
    Memory:
    16GB DDR3
    Hard Drive:
    5TB
    Graphics Card:
    GTX 780
    Power Supply:
    750W
    Alright i reset the BIOS

    11:53am - just started it. At about 35C
    11:55 - gone up to 45C
    11:56 - just opened a game. Gone up to 70C
    11:56 - 77C
    11:56 - 85C
    Aaaand it shut down

    Then for fun I went into the BIOS and looked at the CPU temperature.
    It's constantly raising, even without starting Windows. CPU Fan going at 4041rpm.
    Just hit 71, 72 - screen went all green - now it's at 73, 75, 76.
    Cool! It's not shutting off but either way this isn't normal...


    ma- maybe ill go get a new cooler for it...

    http://www.ncixus.com/products/?usaffiliateid=1000031504&sku=82801&vpn=NH-U12S&manufacture=Noctua

    Is that a waste though? Seems like there's a chance my CPU is fried.
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2016
  12. Bill

    Bill Registered Members

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    601
    Location:
    Southeastern US
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V
    CPU:
    Intel i5 3570
    Memory:
    8GB Kingston DDR3 1600
    Hard Drive:
    Plextor SSD SATA 6 128 GB, WD Velociraptor 150g
    Graphics Card:
    eVGA GTX 550 TI
    Power Supply:
    Antec NeoPower 550w
    That is a very good brand for coolers and fans. Good luck.

    But be forewarned, every Noctura cooler I've seen requires you to take the motherboard out of the case to mount the backplate that holds the cooler in place.
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2016
  13. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,232
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Notura are very good coolers however if you can get you hands on one of there they are brilliant.
    They are low profile and I have 2 pc's running this cooler.
    Hooks onto existing Mobo retainer brackets and no need to R and R mobo.
    Price is amazingly cheap.
    As long as you have a good cooler that's most important.
    The amd heatsink fan I have found to be pretty useless.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835856001
     
  14. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,232
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Hi Callum. Sorry I made a mistake, the Ice Blade does require a bracket behind the Motherboard.
    I have so many coolers I got mixed up with the Hyper 212 which doesn't require mobo brackets.

    I have just bought another Ice Blade for a new build later today.

    Shows 2 fans in the image but only comes with one fan with bracket only to fit a second fan.
     
    allheart55 (Cindy E) likes this.
  15. Callum O'Hare

    Callum O'Hare

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Canada
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    AMD
    Memory:
    16GB DDR3
    Hard Drive:
    5TB
    Graphics Card:
    GTX 780
    Power Supply:
    750W
    Its all good.

    I went out and bought the Cooler Master Hyper 612 Ver 2
    I'm having a hell of a time putting it in though. Every time i get it in, it wobbles back and forth. Probably returning it tomorrow if i cant get it in tonight. I've spent hours taking this thing in and out aha. Its the worst.


    Edit: The screwhole on the heatsink is broken, making it wobble back and forth. Returning it (again. Last time a screw was missing) tomorrow.

    lmao i sure hope this works <3
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2016
  16. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,232
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Hi callum. Never tighten any screw enough to break it. They dont have to be that tight only firm.
    Tighten all screws diagonally and even pressure.

    Be gentle and take your time. If yo have had it off lots of times clean the paste off again and apply new paste but not too much.

    Myself I use my finger and make sure you have even over the processor. Make sure you didn't put too much and gone around the chip. If so remove any excess with an earbud.

    This cooler is very tall. Make sure you have side cover clearance.Make sure when attaching the fan the direction is correct
    Air blowing into cooler fins.


    This video I found may help you

     
    allheart55 (Cindy E) likes this.
  17. Callum O'Hare

    Callum O'Hare

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Canada
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    AMD
    Memory:
    16GB DDR3
    Hard Drive:
    5TB
    Graphics Card:
    GTX 780
    Power Supply:
    750W
    Hey guys!

    So after an insane amount of work and life getting in the way, I FINALLY GOT IT WORKING!

    New heatsink and fan fixed it perfectly!
    Honesty I can't thank you all enough. I missed this thing...

    I'm hovering around 30C when browsing and goes up to around 50C when I'm playing games.

    Thank you all so so so much!
     
  18. Bill

    Bill Registered Members

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    601
    Location:
    Southeastern US
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V
    CPU:
    Intel i5 3570
    Memory:
    8GB Kingston DDR3 1600
    Hard Drive:
    Plextor SSD SATA 6 128 GB, WD Velociraptor 150g
    Graphics Card:
    eVGA GTX 550 TI
    Power Supply:
    Antec NeoPower 550w
    Thanks for telling us.
     
    Callum O'Hare likes this.
  19. Rich M

    Rich M Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4,580
    Location:
    NE Pa USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K 4.0Ghz
    Memory:
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133
    Hard Drive:
    Crucial 256 Gb SSD+ WD Raptor 300 Gb Sata III
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R9 280 2GB HDMI
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 750 watt
    Great Job Dougie and callum!
     
  20. IceMan37

    IceMan37 Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,079
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z87M-G43
    CPU:
    I5 4690k @ 4.6
    Memory:
    16GB Hyper X 1866
    Hard Drive:
    1TB WD_Blue | 240Gb Sandosk SSD
    Graphics Card:
    eVGA GTX 970 FTW
    Power Supply:
    750W Tt
    50c is fine. Max temp for the FX 8320/8350 is around 63-65c. Officially it's "62c" but it would take a while to fry it with that temp if at all. Usually getting around 70c is the real danger over time, but 50c is quite good if that's your max game temp.
     

Share This Page