1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

Can't copy and paste in Mint

Discussion in 'Linux' started by IJAC, Dec 29, 2018.

  1. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    I have Mint 19 Tara have been using it for my main OS for a while. All of a sudden I can't copy and paste or cut and paste to my mounted hard drives.I can move files and folders within Mint such as from the downloads folder to the documents folder.It worked OK when I first installed it several months ago I am thinking maybe a update broke it but not sure.I've been using Linux off and on for many years but by no means a expert though.I did a search on the internet but could not find a answer so far so here I am.I do dual boot between Windows 10 and Linux Mint but I boot to Linux 99% of the time.This is not a big deal but I am mystified on this and if I get the answer it would be great.Another Linux learning experience for me.
     
  2. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,139
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    What are you doing to copy and paste? Are you using menu commands, or keyboard shortcuts? If you're using menu commands, I assume that you see the options to copy and/or paste in the menu and you select those commands. Is that what's going on?
     
  3. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    I am using menu commands.Just tried the keyboard shortcuts and they don't work either.
     
  4. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    Just tried the keyboard shortcuts copying a file from downloads folder to documents folder within mint and that works.Just won't work on my mounted drives where I save files.
     
  5. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,139
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    So that's a clue. Maybe it's a permissions thing with the other drives.
     
  6. Rustys

    Rustys Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,498
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    Hard Drive:
    Yes
    Graphics Card:
    4 D
    Power Supply:
    Solar
    How are you doing the updates? and which levels?
    Possible that an update broke it.

    Have you set up Timeshift if so then you can use that to roll the system back.

    Just another reason I switched to a Arch based version of Linux.

    Guessing that you did do a reboot to see if it was a hic up?
     
  7. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    I was just guessing at the update part.No I haven't set up Timeshift I will look into that.I just upgraded to Mint 19.1 Tessa to see if that would help but same problem.My problem I have to get my mind out of Windows thinking that is why I thought it may be a update. I update through the update manager in Mint.Yes I also did a reboot.I did update the kernel a while ago that is another reason I thought of the update.I am not sure if it is a good idea to update the kernel or not but I did.I do like using Mint but maybe I should look into what you are using Rustys.I don't have any experience on Arch based Linux will have to read up on that.
    Tony I checked permissions on the drives and not sure the permissions are set for me the user.
     
  8. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    Rustys I found how to run Timeshift if I get this working correctly I will set a snapshot for it thanks for the info learn something every day.
     
  9. Rustys

    Rustys Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,498
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    Hard Drive:
    Yes
    Graphics Card:
    4 D
    Power Supply:
    Solar
    Which levels are you updating to 1 2 3 4 5?

    If I remember right anything above 3 is not tested and still in beta. Which can cause glitches with some things.

    Yes updating the Kernel some times is a good thing. Which one are you using at this time?


    I cut my teeth on Mint and Ubuntu about six months ago I tried Manjaro and never looked back. Right now I am testing out GNome and Cinnamon desktop environments, my main one is KDE.

    I too had to get out of the windows train of thought. Evey so often I still get there.

    I use Manjaro which is Arch Based and more stable then Mint and Ubuntu
    https://manjaro.org/
     
  10. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    I am downloading Manjaro now will try it out later.I am using kernel 4.15.0-43 not sure how far up I went because I updated to Mint 19.1 Teresa from Mint 19 Tara thinking maybe it would correct my problem but didn't.I think Tony was on to something when he said it may be permissions.When I tried to save a mp3 from audacity yesterday it wouldn't let me save where I usually do on my other drive.I did look in the permissions but it looks the same as the drives that work so I am confused on that part.I hate to give up and just try another distro but if I like Manjaro I will switch maybe tomorrow cause my patience is a little thin now.Thanks for all your suggestions I do like learning new things it keeps it fresh for me.
     
  11. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    Rustys I just ran Manjaro of a live USB drive it looks promising I am definitely going to install it tomorrow so thanks again.
     
  12. Rustys

    Rustys Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,498
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    Hard Drive:
    Yes
    Graphics Card:
    4 D
    Power Supply:
    Solar
    Like we tell windows users. Have you created a different profile to see if it is the operating system or the profile that is having the issue.

    I think that you will like Manjaro, which environment did you go with?

    Fully agree with the wearing thin of the nerves.
     
  13. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    I went with Cinnamon since I am familiar with that.I am in the process of getting all my personal stuff backed up to get ready for the demolition tomorrow of Mint.No I haven't tried creating another profile I will have to figure that out.I have done it many times in windows but never in Mint.I will search and figure it out I still have a half a nerve left.
     
  14. Rustys

    Rustys Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,498
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    Hard Drive:
    Yes
    Graphics Card:
    4 D
    Power Supply:
    Solar
    Go into setting and select Users and Groups
    On the bottom there should be Add or a (+) plus.

    From memory so I may be off a bit.

    Like you I still have so much to learn. Since you have used it on Mint is is the same except the add remove software and updates to me were supper easy to figure out and use.

    With Manjaro they test all of them before release them to us so there are fewer hic ups.
     
  15. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    Well just tried it the same problem so I guess it will be a new distro tomorrow.Yep I have a lot to learn but I do enjoy Linux much more than Micro$oft.I do have a dual boot but I have it boot straight to Mint if I need Windows I hit F8 and choose the windows drive.Well thanks for all your help and suggestions I will be busy tomorrow installing Manjaro.I may install it along side Mint not sure but more is better right.You have a good rest of your day and if I ever figure out what the problem was I will post it .
     
  16. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    Well I bit the bullet and installed Manjaro last night.All went well but my USB 3.0 ports wouldn't work with 2.0 devices hooked up.33.0 devices did not work either.My keyboard and track ball did work for some reason.I went and searched for a answer and they said to go to a different kernel so I did.Changed to recommended kernel rebooted and all was well again. I played around a little and called it a day and night at that point.
    Now to today I added some software I needed for my audio recording, and did a little customizing.Then I went to copy and paste something from my other HD and yep you guessed it paste is grayed out.Cut,send to trash, delete and renamed is also grayed out on the other drives.So I am back to square one guess I should punt or smash it with a hammer. O and I for got in the middle of customizing it crashed and and to do a hard shut down.Maybe I am just doomed to a life with Microshaft god forbid.
     
  17. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    Well I think I found the answer since I am dual booting windows was the problem. I booted into windows turned off hibernation thru the command prompt with the command powercfg.exe /hibernate off and turned off fast boot within windows.It is now working I will let you know how it goes.To Rustys just to let you know I a really like Manjaro on to playing. Happy New year.
     
  18. Rustys

    Rustys Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,498
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    Hard Drive:
    Yes
    Graphics Card:
    4 D
    Power Supply:
    Solar
    Glad to hear that things are turning around for the better. :biggrin:

    Hope you enjoy your New Year as well and you are welcome.
     

Share This Page