1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.

BLOCKING ADS

Discussion in 'Browser Issues' started by BGBG, Aug 5, 2018.

  1. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,098
    Operating System:
    Windows 7

    Attached Files:

  2. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) CHF Adviser CHF Advisers

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    You need to open an account to read the content.
    Get the information you are seeking from another Website, Bill.
     
  3. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    9,805
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    There isn't any way to block the sign in or register banner that blocks the page.
    It's annoying but they are forcing you to register on the site if you wish to read the content.
    As Dougie said, I would find another site that contains the information that you are seeking.
    I won't let any web site demand my information in order to view the content.
     
  4. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,098
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    That is what I was afraid of. I just close page and move on. Thanks for the verification. BG
     
  5. plodr

    plodr CHF Advisor CHF Advisers

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Messages:
    272
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I don't get the contents blocked and I can see what is on that page.

    Let me take screenshots.
    siteA.jpg
    siteb.jpg
    sitec.jpg
    sited.jpg
     
  6. plodr

    plodr CHF Advisor CHF Advisers

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Messages:
    272
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I have uBlockOrigin and I have included special filters like annoyances list. I also run SpywareBlaster but since it has updated for Firefox in years, I don't think that is what is allowing me to read the page.

    sitee.jpg
    sitef.jpg
    siteg.jpg

    I'll see if I can also attach the 7 screenshots zipped in a folder. If you download the Web page.zip and unzip it, you should see the 7 screenshots inside.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) CHF Adviser CHF Advisers

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I can take screen shots as well, if your fast enough, before the block comes on, which is about Ten seconds.
     
  8. plodr

    plodr CHF Advisor CHF Advisers

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Messages:
    272
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    But I NEVER get blocked.
    I have yet to see what BGBG's attachment shows on that site.
    I was on the site scrolling and took 7 screenshots all without any popup. It took me a lot longer than 10 seconds.

    In noscript, inspire.com is blocked. Perhaps that's why I don't get the popup.
     
  9. tecknomage

    tecknomage Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    117
    Location:
    San Diego, CA USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4690 CPU @ 3.50GHz
    Memory:
    8gb
    Hard Drive:
    4tb
    Graphics Card:
    NVIDIA Corporation GK104 [GeForce GTX 770] 1990mb memory
    Power Supply:
    750w
    What everyone needs to recognize it that Ad Publishers, and some sites dependent on Ad income, work very hard to foil Ad Blockers.

    They are constantly coming up with ways to foil even the best Ad Blockers, example the Ad scheme use by WebMd slide shows.
     
  10. plodr

    plodr CHF Advisor CHF Advisers

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Messages:
    272
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I wouldn't mind ads if malicious ones would not sneak in. (They obviously don't have the resources to keep checking). Protecting my computer from malware is important to me. I'm not click happy but I have clicked the wrong thing a few times and I don't want it to be a malicious ad.

    Also, ever try to load a page when the ad blocker is turned off? Just web mail, like Yahoo. It takes so much longer to load. I think the most I saw blocked was 118. That's ridiculous.
     
    allheart55 (Cindy E) likes this.

Share This Page