1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

[Solved] Blocked sites

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Tony Loly, Oct 9, 2019.

  1. Tony Loly

    Tony Loly Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    196
    Location:
    Solihull, West Midlands
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Just this week I find I can no longer access certain sites. Yes they are adult in nature but in no way illegal & have never had issues before. Whichever browser I use I get a similar message along the lines of
    Cannot securely connect to this page
    This might be because the site uses outdated or unsafe TLS security

    I am on Windows 10 & my provider is BT.

    Any suggestions welcomed.
     
  2. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,252
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Which browsers have you tried? I use Chrome most of the time and get that sort of message now and then. I switch to another browser and it's OK.
     
  3. Tony Loly

    Tony Loly Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    196
    Location:
    Solihull, West Midlands
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Thanks Tony. I get it with Chrome ( my normal choice ) but also with Edge, Opera & Firefox ?
     
  4. Tony Loly

    Tony Loly Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    196
    Location:
    Solihull, West Midlands
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    All sorted now so no longer an issue.
     
  5. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,252
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    So what did you end up doing?
     
  6. Tony Loly

    Tony Loly Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    196
    Location:
    Solihull, West Midlands
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I deduced that if it was happening on all browsers including my ipad then it was an isp issue, in this case BT.
    So I went to the security settings & found that " Web protect " was on, so turned it off & all was back to normal.
    One mystery remains...….how did it get switched to on?
     
    Tony D likes this.
  7. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    281
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    Most likely some sort of update turned it on that happens on occasion.
     

Share This Page