1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

BLack Window

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by BGBG, Jul 22, 2022.

  1. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,831
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Every time I open gmail I get a black window. Wait for it to go away but does not. I close and reopen it. Normal window comes up. Why????
     
  2. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,649
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    You may have done something.
    Reset your browser. That may clear it up.
     
    IJAC likes this.
  3. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,831
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    How do reset my browser?
     
  4. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,649
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Depends on which browser you’re using.
     
    IJAC likes this.
  5. starbuck

    starbuck Administrator - Malware Removal Specialist Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,755
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    CPU:
    AMD Athlon II x2 250 Processor 3.00GHz
    Memory:
    8gb DDR3
    Hard Drive:
    500gb SATA
    Graphics Card:
    ASUS GeForce GTX 960 2gb
    Power Supply:
    650w PowerCool X-Viper
    Here's how to reset Firefox, Internet Explorer and Google Chrome (hopefully one of these will be your browser)

    To Reset Firefox
    • At the top of the Firefox window, click the Help menu and select More Troubleshooting Information
    • Click the Reset Firefox… button in the upper-right corner of the Troubleshooting Information page.
    • To continue, click Reset Firefox in the confirmation window that opens.
    • Firefox will close and be reset. When it's done, a window will list the information that was imported.
    • Click Finish and Firefox will open.
    Note:
    After the reset is finished, your old Firefox profile information will be placed on your desktop in a folder named "Old Firefox Data." If the reset didn't fix your problem you can restore some of the information not saved by copying files to the new profile that was created.
    If you don't need this folder any longer, you should delete it as it contains sensitive information.

    The reset feature works by creating a new profile folder for you while saving your most important data.

    Firefox will try to keep the following data:
    • Bookmarks
    • Browsing history
    • Passwords
    • Cookies
    • Web form auto-fill information
    • Personal dictionary


    --------------------

    Reset IE back to the defaults.
    • Close any Internet Explorer or Windows Explorer windows that are currently open.
    • Open Internet Explorer by clicking the Start button, and then clicking Internet Explorer.
    • Click the Tools button, and then click Internet Options.
    • Click the Advanced tab, and then click Reset.
    • Select the Delete personal settings check box if you would like to remove browsing history, search providers, Accelerators, home pages, and InPrivate Filtering data.
    • In the Reset Internet Explorer Settings dialog box, click Reset.
    • When Internet Explorer finishes applying default settings, click Close, and then click OK.
    • Close Internet Explorer.
    • Your changes will take effect the next time you open Internet Explorer.

    -----------------

    To reset Google Chrome
    • Click the Menu option button at the top right of the Google Chrome screen (3 vertical dots)
    • Select Settings.
    • Click Reset and Clean Up (left hand side).
    • In the dialogue that appears, click Restore settings to their original defaults. Note: When the "Help make Google Chrome better by reporting the current settings" tick box is selected you are anonymously sending Google your Chrome settings. Reporting these settings allows us to analyse trends and work to prevent future unwanted settings changes.
    • Click Reset Settings

    Resetting your browser settings will impact the settings below:

    Default search engine and saved search engines will be reset and to their original defaults.
    Homepage button will be hidden and the URL that you previously set will be removed.
    Default startup tabs will be cleared. The browser will show a new tab when you startup or continue where you left off if you're on a Chromebook.
    New Tab page will be empty unless you have a version of Chrome with an extension that controls it. In that case your page may be preserved.
    Pinned tabs will be unpinned.
    Content settings will be cleared and reset to their installation defaults.
    Cookies and site data will be cleared.
    Extensions and themes will be disabled.
     
  6. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,831
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I am using Google Chrome now but also have Firefox and Edge. This is an off & on issue. I usually just close it and retry. I shall try this. Thanks.
     
  7. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,831
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Right now I am using Google Chrome with DuckDuckGo search. If I close black window and click again it opens normally. Weird. Only recently.
     
  8. starbuck

    starbuck Administrator - Malware Removal Specialist Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,755
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    CPU:
    AMD Athlon II x2 250 Processor 3.00GHz
    Memory:
    8gb DDR3
    Hard Drive:
    500gb SATA
    Graphics Card:
    ASUS GeForce GTX 960 2gb
    Power Supply:
    650w PowerCool X-Viper
    Do you get this black screen if you use Firefox or Edge?
     
    IJAC likes this.
  9. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,831
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Not sure. I will try them. It is not all the time or every time. Says it is waiting for cache of some kind. I just close it and retry but no idea why it is happening. Do not recall this ever before.
     
  10. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,831
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Now I screwed something up. Trying to get it back again. Finally got Google to be default browsser again. Have to get away from it awhile.Will retun later.
     
  11. plodr

    plodr CHF Advisor CHF Advisers

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Messages:
    880
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Google is NOT a browser. Google is a search engine.
    Chrome is a browser.
     
  12. starbuck

    starbuck Administrator - Malware Removal Specialist Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,755
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    CPU:
    AMD Athlon II x2 250 Processor 3.00GHz
    Memory:
    8gb DDR3
    Hard Drive:
    500gb SATA
    Graphics Card:
    ASUS GeForce GTX 960 2gb
    Power Supply:
    650w PowerCool X-Viper
    As BGBG has already stated that he uses Google Chrome, I think you'll find that he just shortened the name to Google.
    He did say ....
    .... so he does know it's a browser.
     
    IJAC likes this.
  13. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,831
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I am aware of all this and apologize if in my haste I stated something incorrectly. Beg forgiveness. BG
     
  14. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,260
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    No need for you to apologize, Bill.
    You did nothing wrong.
     
    IJAC likes this.
  15. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,831
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Always seem to have to close and reopen several times.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. starbuck

    starbuck Administrator - Malware Removal Specialist Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,755
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    CPU:
    AMD Athlon II x2 250 Processor 3.00GHz
    Memory:
    8gb DDR3
    Hard Drive:
    500gb SATA
    Graphics Card:
    ASUS GeForce GTX 960 2gb
    Power Supply:
    650w PowerCool X-Viper
    Hi BGBG,

    You never said if this happens when you try and access Gmail from one of the other browsers.
    You can just try the other browsers, you don't have to change the default browser to use them.
     
    IJAC likes this.
  17. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,831
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I am not sure how to do that. I have shortcuts to other browsers in my tray and I know how to open and make one or any my default browser.
    Do I just open another browser, not make it default, then click the Gmail icon to start?
    I have Edge, Firefox, and Google, and something called Brave I think, Never really use them though.
     
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2022
  18. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,649
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Correct, just open the other browser. When it asks if you want to make it the default browser, just say no. The browser will continue to load.

    Once it's loaded, go to mail.google.com.

    You didn't say where the Gmail icon was located. If it's on your desktop, then clicking on the icon won't work for this test. You'll need to browse to mail.google.com.
     
    IJAC likes this.
  19. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,831
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I have 19 shortcut icons in the bottom left hand tray of screen.net to the START icon. I guess I could open a browser and click the gmail icon? Just never did it before.
    I just tried opening the Edge browser and clicking the gmail icon but it seemed to open in the Chrome window as always.
     
  20. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,649
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Like I said, clicking on the icons won't work for this experiment. When you click on an icon, it opens the default browser. You have Chrome set as your default browser.

    If you want to go to your gmail using a browser other than your default browser, you need to open the browser, like Firefox or Edge, by starting the browser program. Once you're in the browser, go to mail.google.com to access your gmail.

    Alternately, you can open some other browser, like Firefox or Edge. When it open and asks if you want to make it the default browser you can respond saying Yes. Now when you click on one of those desktop icons, the browser you just used will open. Why? Because you've set it to be the "default" browser.
     
    IJAC and allheart55 (Cindy E) like this.

Share This Page