1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

beep error after replacing hdd

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous Hardware' started by Jeff Davis, Aug 19, 2019.

  1. Jeff Davis

    Jeff Davis

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    my old hdd was going bad so i bought a new one. after removing the old one and placing the new one, whenever i power the system it immediately gives me a beep error. 1 long 2 short, which is supposed to indicate a video error. i dont understand why i would get that error. my video card was working perfectly before i changed hdds, and i didnt even touch it when i was switching out the hdds. as a result i dont even get a splash screen so i cant enter bios. ive tried putting my old hdd back in, same problem. i even completely removed and put my video card back in and no change. so im currently stuck using the internet on my wii u. i have a sabertooth 990fx r2.0 motherboard. and a radeon r9 fury x video card
     
  2. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,252
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Hello and welcome Jeff. You are right. Replacing the drive should not have caused this issue. My guess is that while in there, you accidentally did something to cause the problem. Could you have caused an electrostatic discharge?

    I assume you don't have another video card to try. I wonder what would happen if you simply remove the video card. What error indication would you receive? I've never tried that.
     
  3. Jeff Davis

    Jeff Davis

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    no, im certain i grounded myself before doing anything. as for trying it without the video card, if i did that my monitor would be unable to connect to the computer. i did try it once with the power supply was not connected to the video card and i had the same error. i did have to remove the ram sticks and the power supply connector to the motherboard in order to remove the old hard drive. but i made sure several times that i had reconnected the power to the mb and the ram as well so im certain that neither of those are loose.
     
  4. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,252
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    I understand that. Iwas interested to see if the beep codes changed.
     
  5. Jeff Davis

    Jeff Davis

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    there was no change
     
  6. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,252
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    So without the video card installed you're getting the same code. Seems to me you have to try another video card.
     
  7. Seth Anthony

    Seth Anthony Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    872
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Altaire 8800
    CPU:
    Modified Texas Instruments calculator
    Memory:
    2 transistor tubes
    Hard Drive:
    pen and paper
    Graphics Card:
    TV ready
    Power Supply:
    Mouse on a wheel
    I'm thinking somethings not right with the ram you had to remove. Try starting up with just one ram stick.

    Also check that your cpu power plug is in.
     
    Tony D and allheart55 (Cindy E) like this.
  8. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    281
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    I have to agree with Seth I sort of remember 1 long and 2short beeps being a memory error.I would try what Seth has said try one at a time and make sure they are clicked in.Also if you have two different capacity sticks such as a 2GB and a1GB it may make a difference which one goes into which slot on the MB.
     
  9. Jeff Davis

    Jeff Davis

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    okay i tried each ram stick separately and got the same beep error. and i do not have another video card so i'm unable to try a different one.
     
  10. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    281
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    Is it still under warranty?1 long, 2 short --- Failure in video system ------------ An error was encountered in the video BIOS ROM, or a horizontal retrace failure has been encountered
     
  11. Jeff Davis

    Jeff Davis

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    i dont think its under warranty,except for my new hdd and power supply, it's about three years old
     
  12. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    281
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    You could try and remove the Bios battery and reset the Bios.Let the battery out for a while maybe a day then put it back in and see if that helps.I am at a loss on this one if it worked before it should still work.
     
  13. 8_Ball

    8_Ball Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2019
    Messages:
    29
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Sahertooth 990fx rev 2 has a 5 year warranty. If you bought it 3 years ago it's under warranty. If you have popular brand memory such as Corsair, Patriot, Gskill, Crucial it's still covered. Most cheaper PSU's are about 2-3 year at least. Quality PSU's are 5+ years.
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2019
    Tony D likes this.
  14. Jeff Davis

    Jeff Davis

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    okay tried the bios battery thig and tere was no change. i did recall that i had my sisters old desktop pc. i'll try takeing the video card from it and putting it in mine. it's abotu a decade old, but it's worth a shot.
    thanks for the warranty info i'll be sure to use that if i do need to replace something.
     
  15. Jeff Davis

    Jeff Davis

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    okay, i tried a different video card and i,m still getting the same error. at this point i'm thinking it's the motherboard that causing te problem.
     
  16. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    281
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    Maybe you can take advantage of the 5 year warranty that 8_Ball suggested.I believe something is up with the MB so at this point it sounds like your only option is warranty if possible.
     
  17. Jeff Davis

    Jeff Davis

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    well, i bought it on amazon, but i dont have the receipt from when i bought it, so i'm unsure if i'll be able to take advantage of the warranty. but i'll do some digging and see if there's anything i can find on it.
     
  18. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    281
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    Maybe check back on your email, maybe you have something there from Amazon.
     
  19. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    Sign in to your Amazon account.
    On the upper right side, click on Orders.
    There is a drop down menu with different options.
    Use the drop down menu to click on the year that you purchased the motherboard.
    That can be used as your proof of purchase.


    order amazon.png
     
  20. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    281
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    Thanks for the info Cindy I don't use Amazon so I couldn't help with that but now I know.
     
    allheart55 (Cindy E) likes this.

Share This Page