1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

Backing up computer!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Backup and Recovery' started by goosemasterkl, Oct 18, 2018.

  1. goosemasterkl

    goosemasterkl

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I'm a 62 yr.old disabled male with very little knowledge of the computer world. What I'm wanting to do is from past experiences when my computer's hard drive would crash and when I changed out hard drives with a new one it was a pain in the you know what getting my computer back up and running. I'm noticing my hard drive on my computer is making noises and I'm afraid it's going to crash on me again and I'd like to know how to back-up my computer now so if I have to install a new hard drive and I can put everything on the new one like what's on my computer now. OS, drivers, etc. Please someone give me some advice on how I need to do this. I've never backed up a computer. Thanks in advance to anyone who responds.
     
  2. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,070
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Hello and welcome goosemasterkl. Good to see someone who is proactive. If you're hearing hard drive noises, that's not good.

    You can easily backup files and folders to an external hard drive or USB flash drive(s) by copy/paste from source to destination.

    Better yet is to do what you suggested: backup everything. Please visit our Recommended Software page at https://computerhelpforums.com/threads/chf-recommended-software.48136/.

    There's a section on backup software. What you want to do is to download Macrium Reflect free. Install that on your computer. You'll also need an external hard drive with enough space to make a clone of your computer's hard drive. Using that software, you can make an image of your current hard drive onto the external hard drive. Once the image file is made, you can use the software to restore that image file onto another hard drive. Then install that new hard drive into your current computer. When you boot up, it'll look exactly like what it did with the old hard drive.

    Here's the instructions for backing up your computer. https://knowledgebase.macrium.com/display/KNOW7/Backup,+imaging+and+cloning
     
    allheart55 (Cindy E) likes this.
  3. Bastet

    Bastet Registered Members

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Manchester, U.K.
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    PC Specialist Optimus VII V17-960 Gaming Laptop
    CPU:
    6th Gen Intel Core i7-6700HQ Quad Core processor.
    Memory:
    16GB HyperX IMPACT 1600MHz SODIMM DDR3 (2 x 8GB)
    Hard Drive:
    Seagate 2Tb internal. Seagate 6Tb external.
    Graphics Card:
    NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 960M - 2.0GB DDR5 Video RAM - DirectX® 12
    +1 for Macrium Reflect.
     
  4. Seth Anthony

    Seth Anthony Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    800
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Altaire 8800
    CPU:
    Modified Texas Instruments calculator
    Memory:
    2 transistor tubes
    Hard Drive:
    pen and paper
    Graphics Card:
    TV ready
    Power Supply:
    Mouse on a wheel
    Will Macrium clone only deploy properly on the computer it was created on? If not, are the personal files that are backed up accessible from another computer?
     
  5. Bastet

    Bastet Registered Members

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Manchester, U.K.
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    PC Specialist Optimus VII V17-960 Gaming Laptop
    CPU:
    6th Gen Intel Core i7-6700HQ Quad Core processor.
    Memory:
    16GB HyperX IMPACT 1600MHz SODIMM DDR3 (2 x 8GB)
    Hard Drive:
    Seagate 2Tb internal. Seagate 6Tb external.
    Graphics Card:
    NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 960M - 2.0GB DDR5 Video RAM - DirectX® 12
    You’d need the paid version, this has the ability to install an image onto a different PC; I don’t know about clone as usually you’d just swap the hard drive.
    With the free version you should be able to mount the image using Macrium in order to copy any files to a new PC,
     
  6. Seth Anthony

    Seth Anthony Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    800
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Altaire 8800
    CPU:
    Modified Texas Instruments calculator
    Memory:
    2 transistor tubes
    Hard Drive:
    pen and paper
    Graphics Card:
    TV ready
    Power Supply:
    Mouse on a wheel
    Thanks for that Bastet,

    My concern is a computer that has a blown motherboard, and is simply not financially practical to repair. In general, when a hard drive or motherboard fails, the other components are already at, or near the end of their expected lifespan. When that occurs, and the backup is needed, will one run into difficulties if the backup is compressed? If so, then when the backup is setup, should the compression option be disabled if available?
     
  7. Bastet

    Bastet Registered Members

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Manchester, U.K.
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    PC Specialist Optimus VII V17-960 Gaming Laptop
    CPU:
    6th Gen Intel Core i7-6700HQ Quad Core processor.
    Memory:
    16GB HyperX IMPACT 1600MHz SODIMM DDR3 (2 x 8GB)
    Hard Drive:
    Seagate 2Tb internal. Seagate 6Tb external.
    Graphics Card:
    NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 960M - 2.0GB DDR5 Video RAM - DirectX® 12
    Not that I know of as it’ll just decompress upon restoring. The only concern will be if you replace the components within the pc then Windows may not activate if it is an OEM license. If you decide to purchase another PC then you just install Macrium & boot the image as a virtual drive to move the files. As stated the premium version allows you to deploy the image to a new pc.
    If compression is a concern then you can turn that off.
     
  8. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,251
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Macrium- I just wondered if maybe the computer it is to be used on should be the one to download it in case it detects the computer. I downloaded Macrium Free with a 64 bit PC and it said the version is for 64 bit so that made me wonder how it knew that.
     
  9. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,251
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Now that I have the latest Macrium for Windows 7 comouter I need to download and install one for the ASUS Windows 10 so can make hard drive images and copy them to extenal drive as soon as I learn how to do this. Have not used Macrium in several years and not much at that. Do not want to lose all that is on these two computers in case of unexpected problems so will have to begin backing up again. Have been loafing along last few years.
     
  10. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,251
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Have to really learn how to use Macrium again. I think I made a few images a few years back and I do have 4-5 external USB HDD but have to be sure they work on my prsent computers. Anyone know of a tutorial or anything that would be helpful? Basically wantt to save a copy or a C-drive image from Windows 7 and windows 10 laptops so can accedd them if trouble and inaccessibility occurs and it can easily and suddenly do.
     

Share This Page