1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

Apple ipad help please

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous Hardware' started by Tony Loly, Oct 5, 2021.

1. Tony Loly

Tony Loly Registered Members

Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Can anyone suggest the best way to move my apps from an old ipad to my brand new one ? I should mention that I am not tech savvy so need clear instruction. I have usb cables & a desktop PC which I assume will be required.
    Thank you for reading.

2. Tony D

Tony D Administrator Administrator

Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Backup your iPad to Apple's cloud. Then when you get your new iPad, restore it from Apple's cloud. If you buy from an Apple Store, they will probably do it for you. Note that your iPad is probably already set up to backup to the cloud automatically. You can check by going to the Settings section and click on your name in the upper left. Then click on iCloud. Look at the bottom of the first section. There is an option to turn iCloud Backup ON/OFF.

You can also backup and restore using a computer. Install iTunes on your computer and connect your iPad to the computer. Fire up iTunes, if it doesn't come up automatically when you connect the iPad. Perform a backup.

I suggest that you backup to both the cloud and to your PC. Two backups are better than one. If you run into a problem with one backup, there's another to turn to.

Here are Apple's instructions for backing up an iPad to the cloud and to a PC. https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT211228

Here are Apple's instructions for restoring an iPad from a backup. https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT204184

IJAC and Seth Anthony like this.
  3. Tony Loly

Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Thanks so much, all done thanks to your clear advice.

Just found one problem...........only a couple of my music albums have come across?