1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.

Anybody Using The Latest/Newest Version Of Firefox?

Discussion in 'Browser Issues' started by N3, Dec 18, 2017.

  1. N3

    N3 Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    Messages:
    285
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Lenovo
    What's your opinion? Pros & cons? I haven't downloaded it yet.
     
  2. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,258
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
  3. starbuck

    starbuck Administrator - Malware Removal Specialist Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,343
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    CPU:
    AMD Athlon II x2 250 Processor 3.00GHz
    Memory:
    8gb DDR3
    Hard Drive:
    500gb SATA
    Graphics Card:
    ASUS GeForce GTX 960 2gb
    Power Supply:
    650w PowerCool X-Viper
    I use it on one system... and yes it is faster.
    Downside is.... if you use a lot of addons, they may not all work.
    Out of 6 addons I use, only 2 work on the new Firefox.
    Have purposely kept Firefox from updating on a couple of systems because I have addons that I need.
     
  4. Rustys

    Rustys Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,195
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    I use it on my Linux system and have had no issues with it as of yet. :rolleyes:
     
  5. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,258
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    This is the biggest change to the Firefox Browser since 2004.
    The bugs will be fixed quickly.
    I hadn't noticed those issues, Pete, as I don't use many addons.
    I have Rigs which I have stopped updating to Quantum.
    Found the new interface strange for a few minutes, but used to it now.

    I read, Legacy add-ons no longer load in Firefox 57
    Could this be the reason, some of your addons are not working?
     
  6. plodr

    plodr CHF Advisor CHF Advisers

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Messages:
    234
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I run FF ESR as a backup browser. I won't have to deal with the legacy addon mess until the end of June 2018. By that time, perhaps the addons I currently use will be available for the new extension system. I might dump FF. I've been trying out Vivaldi on my 32 bit system and WaterFox on my 64 bit system as possible replacements.

    I swapped FF as my main browser for Palemoon quite a few years ago. It is faster than FF and the few addons I use worked. The theme I always use, Walnut, didn't work but someone wrote a theme that did called Walnutty and that works perfectly. So I've been pleased with Palemoon. Since then it has forked away from the dependence on Mozilla. It has its own addon system.
     
    allheart55 (Cindy E) likes this.
  7. starbuck

    starbuck Administrator - Malware Removal Specialist Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,343
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    CPU:
    AMD Athlon II x2 250 Processor 3.00GHz
    Memory:
    8gb DDR3
    Hard Drive:
    500gb SATA
    Graphics Card:
    ASUS GeForce GTX 960 2gb
    Power Supply:
    650w PowerCool X-Viper
    Yes, that's the reason.
    One of them.. 'Malware Search' hasn't been updated for a couple of years ( it doesn't need to as it's just a link to many malware removal databases) and isn't likely to be updated in the near future.
    But another 'helper' has written a similar version that is compatible with FF57.
     

Share This Page