1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

Advice Suggestions for New Video Editing PC

Discussion in 'New Build and/or New Hardware' started by desktop, May 1, 2021.

  1. desktop

    desktop Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 1, 2021
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Michigan
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    HP All-in-One
    CPU:
    Intel Core i3 6100U 2.3GHz
    Memory:
    8GB
    Hi everyone. This year I decided to get myself a GoPro and start doing some videos. I got a good deal on a Hero 7 that came with a bunch of accessories. I've already done a couple videos, but now I'm faced with a problem - my current PC (an HP All-in-One) doesn't have the specs to edit the videos.

    [​IMG]

    I know there's a graphic card shortage out there, so I had ordered a CyberPower pre-built PC. Unfortunately it came with a really crappy mobo in it and I had to return it. I figured pre-built would only work if I knew the components that were in the PC before I bought it, but most of them don't display that type of info so it's like a crap shoot.

    I thought maybe if I just got another all in one with better specs that would work, but most of the people I talked to said it would be better just to build my own PC so I could get the components I really needed. The problem with that is trying to find a graphics card for the build and so far I haven't seen any cards that are available.

    So someone recommended coming here and asking the community what they would suggest or recommend because they may have ideas or advice on things I'm unaware of. Whatever recommendations I would need a PC with the specs to edit videos, whether in Davinci Resolve or some other capable video editing program.

    I look forward to your comments and thank you for taking the time to read my post and help me out.
     
  2. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,124
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Hello and welcome, There is definitely a graphics card shortage. I saw a couple of tents camped out in front of a local computer shop the other day. They were waiting for the graphics card delivery. There were signs in the store stating how many cards you can purchase and how often. I think they even asked for ID so that you couldn't come back within 30 days to purchase another card.

    Back to your issue. It wasn't clear to me what the requirements for Davinci Resolve are on their web site. Maybe it needs so much power they want to hide the requirements. :p There is a forum you can ask you question at https://forum.blackmagicdesign.com/viewforum.php?f=21

    I did find this at https://www.newsshooter.com/2020/11/13/blackmagic-design-davinci-resolve-17-1-released/
     
  3. desktop

    desktop Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 1, 2021
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Michigan
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    HP All-in-One
    CPU:
    Intel Core i3 6100U 2.3GHz
    Memory:
    8GB
    Hi Tony, thanks for the reply. Yeah, I found out that unlike other video editors that utilize CPU power Davinci draws on GPU power. I don't have to use Davinci, but it seems to have a lot of tools and utilities and it's also free.
     
  4. Digerati

    Digerati Registered Members

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2020
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Make no mistake - there are plenty of very capable, quality graphics cards available as seen here. The shortage comes for those wanting the latest and greatest models. If you are willing to "settle" :rolleyes: for last year's models, you have lots to choose from.

    Sadly, you never told us your budget for this new computer. That matters especially for those wanting to do graphics editing for those REALLY serious into it, would be better suited with a "workstation" graphics card. And as seen here, they can be a little hard on the wallet. But note they are not out of stock either! ;)

    You also need to tell us what you bring to the table. For example, do you also need a new keyboard, mouse, monitor and speakers?

    Last, one of most important purchase decisions should be your power supply. Do NOT try to trim the budget with a cheap supply. Would you buy a new Porsche then fill it up at the corner Tobacco and Bait shop?

    So select all your other components, calculate your PSU requirements (I use and recommend is the eXtreme OuterVision PSU Calculator), then select your PSU. I recommend getting at least an 80 PLUS "Bronze", though "Gold" would be better. I don't recommend wasting your money on a Platinum or Titanium unless you stumble on a fantastic deal. While they are slightly more efficient, it would take years to make up extra purchase cost in energy savings. I like EVGA and Seasonic "Gold" PSUs.

    A quality case provides lots of extensive cooling options, is quiet, and will support an evolving computer for years to come. I like Fractal Design mid-tower cases.

    As far as All in One computers, it is important to note they are essentially laptop computers stuck in a monitor case instead of a laptop case. That means they tend to very proprietary and that means more expensive to buy, more expensive to repair, and they offer little to no upgrade options. And any upgrades they do support tend to be more expensive. So yeah, I recommend building your own "PC" too.
     
    desktop, IJAC, Tony D and 1 other person like this.
  5. desktop

    desktop Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 1, 2021
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Michigan
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    HP All-in-One
    CPU:
    Intel Core i3 6100U 2.3GHz
    Memory:
    8GB
    Digerati, thanks for that great post. My budget would be about 14 hundred bucks which would probably have to include at least a monitor. I already have the mouse and keyboard stuff covered and I don't really need speakers not right at the moment.

    Ask for CPU I was looking at the 10th gen Intel i7 but there's also some nice AMD ryzen options. I'm undecided on which one to go with at the moment.

    I've done some researching myself and yes I would prefer a gold rated power supply. Thanks for the link to those graphic cards. I would definitely want to grab one of those although I'm not sure the specs I actually need.

    I was kind of partial to NZXT cases and there's a couple Corsair cases that like, too.
     
  6. Digerati

    Digerati Registered Members

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2020
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    It should be noted that gaming graphics card do work for graphics editing. And you can game with most workstation cards. So you don't have to get a WS card.

    I have mixed feelings about Corsair cases. They tend to have great designs but we have run into inconsistent quality control issues with several. I have seen more than one case that was not "true". That is, it did not have exactly 90° bends in the sheet metal. This resulted in only 3 of the 4 feet sitting firmly on the floor allowing the case to wobble. This can result in uneven pressures, and cause the motherboard to not sit flat on all the stand-offs, which, in turn, can cause undue stress at the motherboard mounting points. Not good.

    The case bends not being "true" also meant the side panels were difficult to align and install properly. Note the shipping boxes these cases came in were in perfect condition suggesting they were not dropped, crushed or otherwise mishandled during transport.

    We have also seen rough edges on the cut sheet metal where they should have been "finished". Typically these edges are rolled or ground down and smooth. But on these Corsairs, the edges were sharp and jagged and actually resulted in bloody knuckles. [​IMG] Not fun. Other Corsairs of the same model were fine - so again suggesting inconsistent quality control.

    In all fairness, that was a couple years ago so things might have changed. But with a visible scar on at least one of my knuckles, I'm in no hurry to find out.

    I have not personally used NZXT case. I prefer a conservative design - another reason I like Fractal Design. That said, I know several who have used NZXT cases and have heard no complaints.

    $1400 is generous budget - but depending on size, a quality monitor can eat up a big chunk of it. And I'm thinking if graphics editing will be a primary purpose for this computer, image quality and color accuracy will be top priorities.

    I didn't mention it earlier, but IMO, SSD is the only way to go. I migrated to all SSD several years ago and will never go back to hard drives.
     
    IJAC likes this.
  7. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,124
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    That's nasty.
     
    Digerati and IJAC like this.
  8. Digerati

    Digerati Registered Members

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2020
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    It was. Not sure if I was more upset because it hurt and I was worried about dripping on my motherboard, or because I was mad, or because I was disappointed in Corsair. It used to be if it had the Corsair name on the product, you knew you got a quality product. Now it seems you take your chances. The only Corsair product I have never had problems with is their RAM.
     
    allheart55 (Cindy E) and IJAC like this.
  9. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    566
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    It seems like more and more products from China are this way any more. I used a Fractal design case in my last build and love it.
     
  10. Digerati

    Digerati Registered Members

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2020
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Well, it is easy to blame China but it is still the company whose brand name is on the product that is responsible for the design and the manufacturing quality control.

    These Chinese (or Mexican, Taiwan, Vietnam, etc.) factories are fully capable of making top quality products. But if Corsair or whoever doesn't set the standard, invest in training, and conduct aggressive quality assurance inspections, no doubt quality will slip. But I note that applies to US, UK, Israeli, Japanese, German, etc. factories too.

    As far as Fractal Design, I've been really impressed. I just hope they don't start cutting corners in quality to shave off a few pennies in production costs too. I have the Define R4 mid-tower in this PC. Its getting long in the tooth but I still love it. Great design, quality construction, excellent sound deadening, easy to remove and clean air filters. And the included 140mm fans are dead silent.
     
    IJAC likes this.
  11. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,124
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    [
    Good point.
     
  12. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    566
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    That is a coincidence I have the same case in this one. Also good point on the company responsibility part also.
    Sorry to get off topic I don't know much on the question at hand except a video card will definitely make life easier for editing.
     
    Digerati likes this.
  13. desktop

    desktop Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 1, 2021
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Michigan
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    HP All-in-One
    CPU:
    Intel Core i3 6100U 2.3GHz
    Memory:
    8GB
    I've always been a Nvidia/Intel guy, but I'm open to other options. So can you guys recommend CPU, mobo, graphics card to start off? I know Digerati suggested the Fractal case, which one would you recommend?

    I've been searching through all the GPUs on ebay, trying to find something I could use and not kill me financially. They have some nice Radeon 5600 XT cards that are priced pretty good, of course I don't know how well these would work for a video editing rig.

    I've been looking at some mobos by Asus. They seem to have some nice boards out there. I was also looking at some Gigabyte boards, since I've always been a fan of Gigabyte (I used one in my first build).

    As far as Intel I've had my eye on the 10th gen i7 CPUs, they seem pretty good.
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2021
  14. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    566
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    I like Asus boards always had good luck with them. Intel i7 CPU's will work fine, I just built one for a friend with a i7 very fast. As far as graphic cards maybe you could check the specs on your software. I have this case https://www.fractal-design.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/07/Define-R4-Window-PS.pdf and it has done well for me. It is quiet has sound proofing with large fans front and back. Great cable management also. You can also get them with a glass side if you like that type also. Like I said I am not up video editing requirements maybe someone can chime in on that part for you. I did find this maybe of some help: https://filtergrade.com/how-to-pick-a-graphics-card-for-video-editing/ Here is another site: https://www.digitalcameraworld.com/buying-guides/the-best-graphics-cards-for-video-editing I found this site also a guide to building a computer for video editing: https://www.logicalincrements.com/articles/videoediting
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2021
    desktop likes this.
  15. desktop

    desktop Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 1, 2021
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Michigan
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    HP All-in-One
    CPU:
    Intel Core i3 6100U 2.3GHz
    Memory:
    8GB
    Thanks for the advice, and the links. I guess since I'm only doing video editing of Gopro video and nothing too elaborate (like 4K or 3D) I could get something like this.

    To start off with the CPU I was thinking something like this. Should be great for what I need it for. Now just trying to find a motherboard. Too many "gaming" mobos and the prices are a little more than I wanted to spend.
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2021
  16. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    566
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    From the little I've read it looks like that would work. It seems like the CPU does do a lot in video editing also. Since you are not doing the 4K or 3D it most likely should work. Thanks for posting this gave me a chance to learn something new. Just double check with some of the sites I gave you but I think you are good with that card. The one site said the sweet spot for price is around $500.00 for a card. Also the amount of VRAM is important. Best of luck on your build.
     
  17. desktop

    desktop Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 1, 2021
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Michigan
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    HP All-in-One
    CPU:
    Intel Core i3 6100U 2.3GHz
    Memory:
    8GB
    Thanks, I appreciate your input. I read a couple of those articles you linked to. They said 8GB of VRam was optimal, but that card I posted has 4GB. I'm thinking for right now that should be good enough for what I need. Unless of course someone provides some feedback that proves otherwise. However those cards with 8GBVram are pricey.
     
  18. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    566
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    Yeah I can't believe the price of video cards. I knew they where high but wow. Yeah I believe you will be OK . What are the specs of the all in one you have pictured? It looks like there is a i3 in that.
     
  19. desktop

    desktop Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 1, 2021
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Michigan
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    HP All-in-One
    CPU:
    Intel Core i3 6100U 2.3GHz
    Memory:
    8GB
    Yeah it's an i3. Runs the Adobe CS6 programs I have just fine, it just chokes on the video editing.
     
  20. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    566
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    Yep i3 is not enough I guess to work. I think you are on the right track with the i7.
     

Share This Page