1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.

Advice on product key

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Mokles, Mar 9, 2018.

  1. Mokles

    Mokles Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I recently installed MS Office 7 on my laptop and the product key worked fine, but the laptop isn't performing well so I decided to install it on my pc. I thought that as I'd uninstalled it from the laptop that I would be able to put it on the pc, but apparently not and now I have a limited number of uses before I won't be able to use it. Does that mean that product keys are tied to the computer they were first installed on? If so, is there any way around this or will I just have to upgrade?
     
  2. plodr

    plodr CHF Advisor CHF Advisers

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Messages:
    215
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
  3. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,577
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Yes, the key is tied to the computer. Call the phone number provided when you try to activate Office. Tell them that you uninstalled it on the first computer.
     
  4. Mokles

    Mokles Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I can't call them as there isn't any support for MS Office 7 anymore.
     
  5. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,577
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Have you checked out these links?

    Activation and registration information of a Microsoft product:
    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us...gistration-information-of-a-microsoft-product

    Transfer Office 2007 to Another Computer:
    https://social.microsoft.com/Forums...-2007-to-another-computer?forum=genuineoffice

     
  6. Mokles

    Mokles Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Thanks for all your replies. I've already tried the "activate by telephone" option and got the message "Telephone activation is no longer supported for your product", BUT I've just followed through on your first link, Tony, and got success. :clapping:Thank you so much.
     
  7. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,577
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Great, What did you end up doing?
     
  8. Mokles

    Mokles Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I followed the link and finally found a telephone number, it was automated and I had to put in a long code that came up on the Wizard and say how many pcs it was installed on. I was given another long number to use and make a note of as I can use it again in future if necessary.
     
    plodr likes this.
  9. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,577
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Nice going.
     

Share This Page