1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

ADS AND COME-ONS

Discussion in 'Browser Issues' started by BGBG, May 24, 2021.

  1. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,622
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Never in my computer history since 1998 have I seen so many ads, pop-ups, and comeons when I search or open windows. Seem to be all over the place recently. Don't know if they are blockable or not. Right now I just try to close them. I use DuckDuckGo search, Google search, and Google Chrome browser Version 90.0.4430.212 (Official Build) (64-bit). These all seem NEW. Can hardly get past the popup ads to get to a site.
     
  2. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,185
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    It sounds as if you may be infected with some type of malware, Bill.
     
    IJAC, plodr and Tony D like this.
  3. Barry

    Barry

    Joined:
    May 5, 2021
    Messages:
    3
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
     
  4. Barry

    Barry

    Joined:
    May 5, 2021
    Messages:
    3
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
  5. starbuck

    starbuck Administrator - Malware Removal Specialist Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,669
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    CPU:
    AMD Athlon II x2 250 Processor 3.00GHz
    Memory:
    8gb DDR3
    Hard Drive:
    500gb SATA
    Graphics Card:
    ASUS GeForce GTX 960 2gb
    Power Supply:
    650w PowerCool X-Viper
    Or, better still use uBlock Origin.

    uBlock Origin is more than an "ad blocker": it is a wide-spectrum blocker -- which happens to be able to function as a mere "ad blocker".
    The default behavior of uBlock Origin when newly installed is to block ads, trackers and malware sites
    .

    uBlock Origin
    Click on Add to Chrome

    Once installed, I recommend that you update the blocking definitions.

    Right click on the uBlock Origin icon (top right of the browser) and select Options.
    Now click on 3rd Party Filters >> Update Now.
     
    IJAC and plodr like this.
  6. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,147
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    How about using the Brave browser? I switched to the just a few days ago. It has it's own "shield". Even blocked items on this site.

    upload_2021-5-26_16-36-33.png
     
    starbuck and IJAC like this.
  7. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,622
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Am trying Brave. Downloaded, installed and impored settings. I said more but forgot to hit POST REPLY in my haste.
     
  8. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,622
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I canot seem to find this. Here shpows top of my screen /window
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,147
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    IJAC likes this.
  10. starbuck

    starbuck Administrator - Malware Removal Specialist Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,669
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    CPU:
    AMD Athlon II x2 250 Processor 3.00GHz
    Memory:
    8gb DDR3
    Hard Drive:
    500gb SATA
    Graphics Card:
    ASUS GeForce GTX 960 2gb
    Power Supply:
    650w PowerCool X-Viper
    You have to install uBlock Origin first.
    Then the icon will show in the top right corner.

    ublock.png
     
    IJAC likes this.
  11. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,622
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    If uBlock Origin is already installed do I remove both and reinstall uBlack first then the Brave? I want to get it right. Thank you.
     
  12. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,147
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    You need to start Brave first. Then go to the link to install uBlock Origin. ublock Origin will install in only the browser you are using to access it. If you want to install it in Chrome or any other browser, you need to fire up that browser and point it to uBlock Origin to install the uBlock Origin extension.
     
    IJAC likes this.
  13. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,622
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I shall try this tomorrow.
     
  14. starbuck

    starbuck Administrator - Malware Removal Specialist Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,669
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    CPU:
    AMD Athlon II x2 250 Processor 3.00GHz
    Memory:
    8gb DDR3
    Hard Drive:
    500gb SATA
    Graphics Card:
    ASUS GeForce GTX 960 2gb
    Power Supply:
    650w PowerCool X-Viper
    As far as I know, uBlock Origin is not compatible with Brave.... unless it's been updated recently.
     
    IJAC likes this.
  15. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,147
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    I happen to have Brave on my W10 laptop. I see uBlock Origin is installed, but I don't see next to the combo box where I would normally see it in Chrome. I also see Brave has AdGuard installed. I don't remember installing it. Maybe it comes with Brave.



    upload_2021-6-7_7-26-46.png




    upload_2021-6-7_7-28-16.png


    upload_2021-6-7_7-26-52.png
     
    IJAC likes this.
  16. starbuck

    starbuck Administrator - Malware Removal Specialist Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,669
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    CPU:
    AMD Athlon II x2 250 Processor 3.00GHz
    Memory:
    8gb DDR3
    Hard Drive:
    500gb SATA
    Graphics Card:
    ASUS GeForce GTX 960 2gb
    Power Supply:
    650w PowerCool X-Viper
    uBlock Origin is not a one program does all.
    You have to download the specific version for the browser.
    I know uO is available for Firefox, Chrome and was available for the old version of Edge.
    There wasn't a version for IE though.
    So I doubt there's a specific version for Brave.
     
    IJAC likes this.
  17. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,147
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Opps, forgot to mention that as you said, Brave is not one of the browsers mentioned on their site. So I don't know how/why it got into my Brave browser. Below is a snip from their site. Note: Brave is not listed.

    upload_2021-6-7_8-13-19.png

    I did an experiment today and found that the uBlock Origin site recognizes the Brave browser as being Chrome. The extension can be installed. Don't know how effective it is because it doesn't show up on the top next to the combo box. Here's a screen shot from when I installed uBlock Origin in Brave. Note the Chrome web store and the Add to Brave notations.

    upload_2021-6-7_8-9-47.png
     
    IJAC likes this.
  18. starbuck

    starbuck Administrator - Malware Removal Specialist Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,669
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    CPU:
    AMD Athlon II x2 250 Processor 3.00GHz
    Memory:
    8gb DDR3
    Hard Drive:
    500gb SATA
    Graphics Card:
    ASUS GeForce GTX 960 2gb
    Power Supply:
    650w PowerCool X-Viper
    Seems that Brave utilises parts of uBlock origins database...
    https://www.ghacks.net/2021/02/10/b...-and-fanboy-annoyances-lists-and-social-list/
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2021
    IJAC likes this.

Share This Page