1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

[Solved] Adobe Reader X

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by BLKBRD37, Aug 15, 2013.

  1. BLKBRD37

    BLKBRD37 Registered Members

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    121
    Location:
    UK
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista Enterprise
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Pavillion
    CPU:
    Intel 5300
    Memory:
    6GB
    Hard Drive:
    640GB
    Graphics Card:
    Intel GMA 3100
    Power Supply:
    110v
    Even though I have Adobe Reader X on my computer I can't seem to get any PDF function. When I try to print a page from a website I am taken to a Microsoft Spreadsheet page with some gobbledygook on it. Anyone know what's happening?
    Thank you in advance.
     
  2. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,649
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Try downloading the file and the print it. The file should end with a PDF file extension. The PDF extension tells the computer to open the file with Adobe's Reader app. Well, that is unless you or someone else or something else has changed things. Fortunately, the folks here know how to fix such things.
     
  3. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Hi. Further to Dragnets good advice your reader may have become corrupted.
    I would uninstall and reinstall Adobe Reader.:)
     
  4. Bill

    Bill Registered Members

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    601
    Location:
    Southeastern US
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V
    CPU:
    Intel i5 3570
    Memory:
    8GB Kingston DDR3 1600
    Hard Drive:
    Plextor SSD SATA 6 128 GB, WD Velociraptor 150g
    Graphics Card:
    eVGA GTX 550 TI
    Power Supply:
    Antec NeoPower 550w
  5. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Very good alternative, Bill.
    I have used Foxit Reader for some years and never once let me down.
    Be careful when downloading as it comes with a heap of crap which you don't need.
    Read each download page carefully and decide what you want, before clicking "Next"
     
  6. BLKBRD37

    BLKBRD37 Registered Members

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    121
    Location:
    UK
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista Enterprise
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Pavillion
    CPU:
    Intel 5300
    Memory:
    6GB
    Hard Drive:
    640GB
    Graphics Card:
    Intel GMA 3100
    Power Supply:
    110v
    Thank you, Dragnet. As Sgt Joe Friday used to say on a TVprogram of that naame - 'All I want are the facts, ma'am. Just the facts.
     
  7. BLKBRD37

    BLKBRD37 Registered Members

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    121
    Location:
    UK
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista Enterprise
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Pavillion
    CPU:
    Intel 5300
    Memory:
    6GB
    Hard Drive:
    640GB
    Graphics Card:
    Intel GMA 3100
    Power Supply:
    110v
    Many thanks for your suggestion. Will do that now. If it works I will get back to you.
     
  8. BLKBRD37

    BLKBRD37 Registered Members

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    121
    Location:
    UK
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista Enterprise
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Pavillion
    CPU:
    Intel 5300
    Memory:
    6GB
    Hard Drive:
    640GB
    Graphics Card:
    Intel GMA 3100
    Power Supply:
    110v
    Have been away for awhile. Downloaded FOXIT and all seems to be well now. Great stuff from you guys. Thanks.
     
  9. BLKBRD37

    BLKBRD37 Registered Members

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    121
    Location:
    UK
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista Enterprise
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Pavillion
    CPU:
    Intel 5300
    Memory:
    6GB
    Hard Drive:
    640GB
    Graphics Card:
    Intel GMA 3100
    Power Supply:
    110v
    P.S. What exactly happens when I try to print a webpage document? When I select 'Print Preview' the heading of the article shows but the main article is blanked out. Very frustrating.
     
  10. PseFrank

    PseFrank Registered Members

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    962
    Location:
    Cambridge UK
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I don't have to deal with PDF's very often but if you are using Foxit then the image below shows what you should see after clicking File > Print..
    [​IMG]

    You'll notice in my image that the PDF that I opened in Foxit only consists of a single page, but if it had multiple pages I have the option of clicking through them using the arrows at the bottom of the preview section.
    Also pay attention as to which radio button you have checked under "Print Range". The image shows that I have "All" checked in this section.
     
  11. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,649
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Try placing your mouse on the part that you want to print. Then right click and try selecting Print or Print Preview.
     
  12. BLKBRD37

    BLKBRD37 Registered Members

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    121
    Location:
    UK
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista Enterprise
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Pavillion
    CPU:
    Intel 5300
    Memory:
    6GB
    Hard Drive:
    640GB
    Graphics Card:
    Intel GMA 3100
    Power Supply:
    110v
    Apologies DSTM. I downloaded FOXIT and all now seems to be well. Many thanks.
     
  13. BLKBRD37

    BLKBRD37 Registered Members

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    121
    Location:
    UK
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista Enterprise
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Pavillion
    CPU:
    Intel 5300
    Memory:
    6GB
    Hard Drive:
    640GB
    Graphics Card:
    Intel GMA 3100
    Power Supply:
    110v
    Yes, I do that but invariably the headline will print but the body will not.
     

Share This Page