1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

8.0 t0 8.1 to win 10?

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by daveleonard, Aug 1, 2015.

  1. daveleonard

    daveleonard Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Messages:
    416
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Acer Aspire
    CPU:
    See below
    Memory:
    Ditto
    Hard Drive:
    Ditto
    Graphics Card:
    Ditto
    Power Supply:
    Ditto
    I have heard on the news that since win 10 came out those of us with win8 can upgrade to win 10 for free. My problem is I can't even upgrade to 8.1 from 8.0 let alone 10. Unless of course I already have 8.1 and don't know it. I read the post by Jolle which made me take a look at my updates history. I don't see any history of 8.1 updated. Whenever I go to the MS store and try to download 8.1 i get the error "cannot download". I have my updates set to automatic also. Is there anything I can do?
    Thanks, Dave
     
  2. starbuck

    starbuck Rest In Peace Pete Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,830
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    CPU:
    AMD Athlon II x2 250 Processor 3.00GHz
    Memory:
    8gb DDR3
    Hard Drive:
    500gb SATA
    Graphics Card:
    ASUS GeForce GTX 960 2gb
    Power Supply:
    650w PowerCool X-Viper
    Hi Dave,

    from your FRST report:
    So, you are still on Win8.

    There does seem a lot on the net about problems updating the Win8 single language edition.
    Popular consensus is that this should be done using an ISO.

    How to Download Windows 8.1 Single Language OEM ISO
     
  3. Rich M

    Rich M Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4,580
    Location:
    NE Pa USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K 4.0Ghz
    Memory:
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133
    Hard Drive:
    Crucial 256 Gb SSD+ WD Raptor 300 Gb Sata III
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R9 280 2GB HDMI
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 750 watt
    Pete and Dave,
    I am not sure which update does it but I have struggled at times and found that unless you have every update done for 8.0, the 8.1 update will be unsuccessful from "the Store". That means going to "Windows Update" in Control Panel and doing all the updates (except the driver updates) critical and optional and once done do it again as some don't become available until you do the others and then it should work. Using a disk means having another code as installing from a disk you cannot use the code on your Windows 8 as it won't accept it.
     
  4. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,459
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
  5. Rich M

    Rich M Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4,580
    Location:
    NE Pa USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K 4.0Ghz
    Memory:
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133
    Hard Drive:
    Crucial 256 Gb SSD+ WD Raptor 300 Gb Sata III
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R9 280 2GB HDMI
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 750 watt
    Interesting Cindy, thanks for that!
     
  6. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,459
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    Anytime, Rich! :D
     
  7. daveleonard

    daveleonard Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Messages:
    416
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Acer Aspire
    CPU:
    See below
    Memory:
    Ditto
    Hard Drive:
    Ditto
    Graphics Card:
    Ditto
    Power Supply:
    Ditto
    Well thanks folks but it appears impossible from where I am in the Philippines. I tried to download the ISO but even one segment is too much for me to download. We have to use internet via cell phone towers here and the system is slow. I tried several times to download but get a "failed" response after a while every time. I will just have to live with 8.0 or maybe get a disc of 10 later on. Thanks again, Dave
     
  8. daveleonard

    daveleonard Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Messages:
    416
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Acer Aspire
    CPU:
    See below
    Memory:
    Ditto
    Hard Drive:
    Ditto
    Graphics Card:
    Ditto
    Power Supply:
    Ditto
    I was able to download all the segments and place on my desktop over 24 hours.
    The order to run is KB2919442 first, then:
    clearcompressionflag.exe, KB2919355,KB2959977,KB2937592,KB2938439, and KB2934018
    and placed them on my desktop over time.
    When I tried to run the first one, KB2919442, I got the error "not applicable to this pc". So now I am really confused.
    I tried to run the second one and that failed also.
    Any thoughts? Thanks.
     
  9. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,459
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
  10. daveleonard

    daveleonard Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Messages:
    416
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Acer Aspire
    CPU:
    See below
    Memory:
    Ditto
    Hard Drive:
    Ditto
    Graphics Card:
    Ditto
    Power Supply:
    Ditto
    Hi Cindy, I did download the additional updates but they would not run and I got the attached error. Maybe I am doing this wrong. I saved the updates to the desktop and tried to run from there. Thanks, have a nice day. Dave
    download and run
    KB2919442 first, then:
    clearcompressionflag.exe, KB2919355,KB2959977,KB2937592,KB2938439, and KB2934018

    run KB2939087 and KB2975061 First
     

    Attached Files:

  11. daveleonard

    daveleonard Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Messages:
    416
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Acer Aspire
    CPU:
    See below
    Memory:
    Ditto
    Hard Drive:
    Ditto
    Graphics Card:
    Ditto
    Power Supply:
    Ditto
    One other thing I also noticed. I tried going to the site where we can upgrade to 8.1 using our 8.0 product key but I got the error "this key does not work". I don't know what's up with that either? I activated my 8.0 using the key that came on the package. I found no way to contact MS, just a forum of other users. Thanks, Dave, take care.
     
  12. daveleonard

    daveleonard Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Messages:
    416
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Acer Aspire
    CPU:
    See below
    Memory:
    Ditto
    Hard Drive:
    Ditto
    Graphics Card:
    Ditto
    Power Supply:
    Ditto
    The latest: I found that I needed to use a "placeholder key": Windows 8.1 placeholder - core 334NH-RXG76-64THK-C7CKG-D3VPT. Which does work but I still cannot download the application file. Given the fact that I have a very slow connection and that MS does not offer an upgrade disc, it appears impossible to upgrade. I was able to download all the MS upgrades to my desk top but that is of no use if I cannot activate them with a .exe file which is with the application file. The only other thing I can think of is if I had someone with a fast connection to make me a thumb drive copy but everyone here in the Philippines is in the same boat as I with a "slow" connection.
    Thanks anyway.
    Blessings from Camiguin Island, Philippines. Dave
     
  13. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,459
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    I wish that there was some way that I could help you, Dave.
     
  14. daveleonard

    daveleonard Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Messages:
    416
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Acer Aspire
    CPU:
    See below
    Memory:
    Ditto
    Hard Drive:
    Ditto
    Graphics Card:
    Ditto
    Power Supply:
    Ditto
    Well thanks Cindy. In the future I might have the solution in the form of Internet Sat Broadband. I already have Sat TV so now I need to inquire and see of they have sat internet as well.
    You all take care and Blessings from Camiguin Island, Philippines. Dave
     
  15. daveleonard

    daveleonard Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Messages:
    416
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Acer Aspire
    CPU:
    See below
    Memory:
    Ditto
    Hard Drive:
    Ditto
    Graphics Card:
    Ditto
    Power Supply:
    Ditto
    Cindy, EUREKA, I got 8.1. In case someone is having this same problem with a slow connection rate, this is how it worked for me. I started the download in the store and let it run on download for three days and three night. I did not stop it at all. Not much downloading was done during the day because of traffic but at night I got 1/3 of the app each night. It worked for me because I have unlimited internet service albeit very slow.
    Hope this helps someone.
    Blessings from Camiguin Island, Philippines
    Dave
     
  16. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,459
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    Excellent news, Dave!
     
  17. Rich M

    Rich M Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4,580
    Location:
    NE Pa USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K 4.0Ghz
    Memory:
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133
    Hard Drive:
    Crucial 256 Gb SSD+ WD Raptor 300 Gb Sata III
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R9 280 2GB HDMI
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 750 watt
    I have seen as mentioned in a few other threads that perseverance works with this process. I had two units that took at least 7-8 tries before they finally completed and there was nothing I did any different that I could see on any of them!
     

Share This Page